my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » A very Weird situation

Author Topic: A very Weird situation
Member # 3003

posted July 30, 2003 05:48 PM      Profile for Raikou1234      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Well..playing in team....I've got my suicune up, and he attaches a fire cube to his moltres and attacks with it...can he?

Fire Cube 01
Attach this card to 1 of your R Pokemon in play. That Pokemon may use this card's attack instead of it's own. At the end of your turn, discard Fire Cube 01.

[R] Singe () The Defending Pokemon is now Burned.

Suicune's Power

Power: Legendary Body: As long as Suicune is your Active Pokemon, Suicune and Energy cards attached to it aren't affected by effects from Trainer cards other than Trainer cards other than Stadium cards. As long as this power is active, discard all Trainer cards attached to Suicune. (This power works even if Suicune is Asleep, Confused, or Paralyzed.)

We got ruled no...when you think of it right away, you would say yes, but when reading the power/trainer, it would seem like no

Team Format Winner at Origins with SuperSpaceGuy!
Go Team Rabid Tyrouge & SSG!
IM me at RabidRogueKid for a Game of Apprentice

From: Somewhere | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 825

posted July 30, 2003 06:01 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
From the Compendium:

Q. If I have a non-holo Neo Revelation Raikou (the one with Legendary Body) as my active pokemon, can I use a Lightning Cube to attack with him, and if so, do I have to discard the energy cards attached to Raikou?
A. Yes, you can and yes you still have to discard the energy because that is a cost. (Apr 10, 2003 WotC Chat, Q1137)

If the Pokemon can attack with the card, I don't see why it can't be attacked with the card. It is an attack that is affecting the Pokemon, not a trainer card.

Of course, how the card is attached to Raikou when you attack is beyond me.

[ July 30, 2003, 06:03 PM: Message edited by: yoshi1001 ]

Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards


AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 113762

posted July 30, 2003 07:33 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I'm sure the MTs didn't realize what they were saying yes to!

Yes, Suicune could be attacked by a Pokemon with a TM attached to it. The Pokemon is being affected by the TM, not Suicune. Suicune is just being affected by an attack.

In the case of Raikou, there is no way you could attach that TM to it!

Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
Member # 73689

posted July 31, 2003 12:41 AM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
you could always shut off its power then attach a tm...

Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged

Member # 60305

posted July 31, 2003 07:31 AM      Profile for Spectreon      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I belive you can attach it to Riakou, but there is no way to attack with it. You could either A) attach it to the benched Riakou, and make it active, discard the TM, or attach it to the active, and discard it imedetely (dont see how this is helpfull).

If you shut off its Power, then there is no need for this question. You CANNOT shut off part of its power, only all or none of it..... That is a bizzare ruling that shouldve never bben asked to begin with.....

To evolve, treat Eevee poorly, when it hates your guts, let it get ko'ed in th night while holding Spell Tag. PS, if it gets ko'ed outin the day, then it will die, go visit its grave in Soul House of Lavender, next to Fuji

Spectreon: The Scary Ghost Pokemon

Spectreon often haunt graveyards, sneaking up and scaring unsuspecting visitors

From: Lavender Town, Kanto | Registered: Jan 2002  |  IP: Logged
Member # 124574

posted July 31, 2003 10:37 AM      Profile for cattdreams      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
going back to the origional question, your pokemon would get burned, as the trainer card (fire cube) is effecting the attacking pokemon.(the effect being, it gains another attack for one turn), not the defending pokemon.


From: orange county | Registered: Jan 2003  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0