my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Energy Evolution

   
Author Topic: Energy Evolution
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted April 30, 2003 10:15 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
In the Compendium, the question is asked, "An Energy Evolution Eevee with only 10 HP remaining has a Rainbow Energy attached to it. Would the player attaching the Rainbow Energy get to flip for Energy Evolution or would the Rainbow Energy damage KO the Eevee first?" Has this question been answered? If so, what is the answer? Apologies if there is already a post on this topic.

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
jesschow12

Member # 70624



posted April 30, 2003 10:23 PM      Profile for jesschow12   Email jesschow12    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
since you control the eevee,you choose which one you will go first

--------------------
have list

From: singapore | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted April 30, 2003 11:24 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
In other words, if (for whatever reason, and I can think of a couple) you want Eevee to be KO'd, it is; but if you want to activate its power, you can, with the end result of that choice being that you have a Pokemon evolved from Eevee with 30 Damage on it?

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted May 01, 2003 09:40 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I wasn't aware the question had been answered, although the answer sounds probable. Where did you get that from, JessChow?

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
procrastination_alley

Member # 106884



posted May 01, 2003 02:01 PM      Profile for procrastination_alley   Email procrastination_alley    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Ok, I'm a little confused here. I was under the impression that the actual act of putting the rainbow energy into play on a pokemon puts the effect of 10 damage on that pokemon, just like when playing warp energy switches out your pokemon- as it is put into play. Even Light Dragonite's power which nullifies the effects on energies can't stop the "coming into play" effects of warp energy and rainbow. So Eevee would be knocked out before the pokemon power would kick in. Does anyone have a definite answer on this one?

[ May 01, 2003, 02:09 PM: Message edited by: procrastination_alley ]

From: Utopia, Ontario, Canada | Registered: Sep 2002  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted May 01, 2003 06:02 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I don't know, but my guess is that activating the Power, like putting on the damage counter, is considered part of attaching the Energy, and therefore is occuring simultaneously. Therefore, owner chooses which order it occurs in.

[ May 01, 2003, 06:03 PM: Message edited by: dkates ]

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
WizPoG_Pop

Member # 113762



posted May 01, 2003 07:57 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Here's a ruling from 10-31-2002:
quote:
master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #229 from lizardotc:If my Evee has 40 damage on it and I use Venusaur's Harvest Bounty to attach 2 Rainbow energies to it, I flip two coins. If I get tails on the first and heads on the second, does Eevee get to use Energy Evolution before it takes the damage, or not?
master_trainer_pat says, "Lemme check my game boy"
master_trainer_mike says, "Geez, feeling a bit put upon???"
master_trainer_mike says, "You have to resolve each card after you attach it."
master_trainer_pat says, "still scanning cards...."
master_trainer_mike says, "SO, after the first rainbow is done, you would add 10 damage, then you wuld do the same fo rthe second card."
master_trainer_mike says, "In your example, Eevee, would have been Knocked out."

Based on that, I'd say you get to look before applying the damage.
Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted May 01, 2003 08:32 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I like your conclusion, Pop, but I fail to see your reasoning. Please explain.

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
WizPoG_Pop

Member # 113762



posted May 01, 2003 09:33 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Well, if you were adding the damage before the flip, it wouldn't matter in what order you resolved the two Rainbow Energies. The Eevee would be KO'd anyway.
Weak grounds I know, but it's about all we have on the subject.

Other than that, I would tend to think that "coming into play" actions would have to be performed before actions triggered by things that are already in play, in which case I would come to the opposite conclusion, that Eevee gets KO's before you have a chance to flip.

This is really one that can go either way. I could support either conclusion.

But, if I were making a ruling with out referring to other rulings, I'd go with the KO.

Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
MrGrass

Member # 166



posted May 01, 2003 09:54 PM      Profile for MrGrass   Email MrGrass    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Yeah, I asked this question and I'm still waiting for an answer. The problem with the Harvest Bounty answer is that it doesn't specifically say you can flip for the first Rainbow before searching. This question needs a direct ruling all its own.

--------------------
"They possess armor that explodes on impact." He-Man action figure commercial

"This is so good it just has to be fattening." Stewy from The Family Guy

AIM: SpectreX0
Yahoo: Shiny_Psyduck

From: A WOTC Store in Pennsylvania | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
dkates
Member
Member # 113463



posted May 01, 2003 10:16 PM      Profile for dkates      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I agree. To start, we'll take the exact wordings of the relevant sentences:
  • Energy Evolution: Whenever you attach an Energy card to Eevee, flip a coin. [Results]
  • Rainbow Energy: When you attach this card from your hand to 1 of your Pokémon, put 1 damage counter on that Pokémon.
Note that both effects happen when the card is attached. Therefore, they are happening at the same time. As I understand it, the precedent is that when two effects controlled by the same player occur simultaneously, the controlling player decides which to resolve first. Therefore, logic says that the Power should activate and, if heads, the Evolution occurs as stated in Energy Evolution.

--------------------
Every time I think I can't say anything stupider, I prove myself wrong. Maybe I should just stop thinking.

From: Houston, TX | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity