my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Last Chance to Correct Erroneous Rulings?

   
Author Topic: Last Chance to Correct Erroneous Rulings?
Otaku

Member # 42359



posted July 29, 2003 04:44 PM      Profile for Otaku   Email Otaku    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
About two weeks ago, I was made aware of a ruling that I did not understand. Lamentably, I let myself get side-tracked, so now I hope to get the ruling reversed in the "13th hour" so to speak. Let me first establish that we are all in agreement on certain facts. All of these are exerts from the Compendium:

quote:
Q. Can you Rain Dance Rainbow Energy?
A. No. Because it does not count as any type while in your hand. (June 22, 2000 WotC Chat, Q247)

So there Rainbow Energy has no "type" (Color) while in hand.

quote:
Q. How do you use the Rainbow Energy Card?
A. For Rainbow Energy, when you attach this energy to a Pokémon (from your hand), that Pokémon takes 10 points of damage. The Rainbow Energy now counts as all basic Energy types at the same time (Grass, Fire, Water, Psychic, Lightning, and Fighting). (May 4, 2000 WotC Chat, Q60)

When it is attached to a Pokemon from your ahnd, it does 10 damage and then counts as all basic Energy types at once.

Now we come to the ruling that puzzles me:

quote:
Q. Since Rainbow Energy counts as all types while being attached (allowing Energy Evolution Eevee to use its power) would it also count for Aquapolis Entei's Pure Body?
A. Yes. (Jun 19, 2003 WotC Chat, Q2008)

Now, here is where things no longer make sense. Now, even if Rainbow does become all types at the moment of attachment, let's look at when the text from Eevee in question (from Neo Discovery) and one of the Legendery Dogs that this ruling applies to.

Here's Eevee's Power:

quote:
Energy Evolution
Whenever you attach an Energy Card to Eevee, flip a coin. If heads, search your deck for a card that evolves from Eevee that is the same type as the Energy card you attached to Eevee. Attach that card to Eevee. This counts as evolving Eevee. Shuffle your deck afterward. This Power can't be used if Eevee is Asleep, Confused, or Paralyzed.

and Entei's:

quote:
Pure Body- To attach a (R) Energy card from your hand to Entei, you must discard an Energy card attached to Entei. (Attach the (R) Energy and then discard an Energy card from Entei.)
Emphasis added by me. You'll note that Eevee's Power doesn't check Energy type until after the coin flip occurs. Entei's Poke-Body, on the other hand, looks at the card "in your hand", much like Blastoise's Power has been interpretted to do. So I submit that this ruling on Pure Body is incorrect. It was based on a misunderstanding of how Eevee's Power works. I hope there is still time to get this ruling corrected. I know that WotC has stopped their chats, but even so, if one of them happens to be checking out the site (yeah right, I know they are too busy [Roll Eyes] ).

This brings up another question: how will we determine new rulings for older cards? I know I plan on playing with my older cards, even if none are used by Nintendo. Has anyone determined how we shall arrive at mutual rulings for these?

--------------------
Imakuni Rules!

You can reach me at Otakutron on AIM and nihon_game_otaku on Yahoo Messenger.

From: Iowa | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
adrianmew2
Member
Member # 146456



posted July 30, 2003 12:05 PM      Profile for adrianmew2   Email adrianmew2    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
What if you use a double colorless energy on evee?
would you have to flip 2 coins.
[Confused]

Registered: Jul 2003  |  IP: Logged
Omega Ant
Member
Member # 135553



posted July 30, 2003 12:10 PM      Profile for Omega Ant      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I disagree with you about that eevee thing . part of the attaching is doing damage and providing all types and only then you flip a coin to evolve .

now about old-new card ruling I think that wotc (or maybe nintendo because they're now printing them ) should consult with the source in japan 'cos that's the origin of all pokemon tcg cards so they propobly got answers for this .

--------------------
"Can you make the ultimate card combo ?" -CPA

Registered: Apr 2003  |  IP: Logged
Omega Ant
Member
Member # 135553



posted July 30, 2003 12:12 PM      Profile for Omega Ant      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I disagree with otaku . It just took me long to write this .

--------------------
"Can you make the ultimate card combo ?" -CPA

Registered: Apr 2003  |  IP: Logged
Pidgeotto Trainer
Member
Member # 133447



posted July 30, 2003 12:15 PM      Profile for Pidgeotto Trainer      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Eevee doesn't have a colorless evolution. But if it did the power reads energy Card attached to Eevee, so you would not flip twice. But for a non-serious question, what would happen if there was a colorless evolution and you could flip twice & you got 2 heads?
That would be interesting, if there was one you might get to a stage 2 on one turn. Again that is stupid question since there are many things that aren't true on my part, but just something to think about. [Smile]

--------------------
Co-Leader & longest member of Northgate Wizards Pokemon League-Seattle
52nd-Fan Appreciation Tournament 3-1 Blackout theme deck. 2-2-1 Kabutops/Scizor/Furret
10th-Feb Seattle SBZ
10th-May Seattle SBZ
Ash: "Pidgeotto Gust attack."
Pidgeotto: "Pidgeoooo"
Team Rocket: "Looks like Team Rocket's blasting off again." (ding)
Pidgeotto & I challenge YOU

From: Seattle, WA (Home of the 2002 World Championship | Registered: Mar 2003  |  IP: Logged
Omega Ant
Member
Member # 135553



posted July 30, 2003 12:20 PM      Profile for Omega Ant      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Charizard's (legend/base) attack says you discard 2 energy card yet you can discard only the double colorless card (considering the fact U used it's energy burn) . So , 2 coins should be flipped when attaching 2 colorless energies to eevee , no ?

--------------------
"Can you make the ultimate card combo ?" -CPA

Registered: Apr 2003  |  IP: Logged
WizPoG_Pop

Member # 113762



posted July 30, 2003 12:25 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Omega Ant:
Charizard's (legend/base) attack says you discard 2 energy card yet you can discard only the double colorless card (considering the fact U used it's energy burn) . So , 2 coins should be flipped when attaching 2 colorless energies to eevee , no ?

Uh, no!

If you discard a Double Colorless for Fire Spin you still have to discard one more energy card! It says to discard 2 cards, you have to discard two cards.

Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 30, 2003 01:33 PM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
FWIW I think Otaku is correct and that you should be able to attach a rainbow energy from your hand without triggering Pure Body.

same for that mini-rainbow Crystal energy.

My reasoning is that the question asked at the chat contains an error: rainbow does not count as all types of energy until after it has been successfully attached.

[ July 30, 2003, 01:45 PM: Message edited by: NoPoke ]

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
adrianmew2
Member
Member # 146456



posted July 30, 2003 02:57 PM      Profile for adrianmew2   Email adrianmew2    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
somebody in the pokegym said me that if you use a colorless you can evolve it whatever pokemon you like (vaporeon,jolteon,faleron,espeon,umbreon)
Registered: Jul 2003  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted July 30, 2003 03:15 PM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
No. A Rainbow will do that, though. Remember, anything counts as colorless, colorless only counts as colorless.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
WizPoG_Pop

Member # 113762



posted July 30, 2003 03:44 PM      Profile for WizPoG_Pop   Email WizPoG_Pop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by adrianmew2:
somebody in the pokegym said me that if you use a colorless you can evolve it whatever pokemon you like (vaporeon,jolteon,faleron,espeon,umbreon)

They were wrong.
Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity