my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Anyone else notice Nintendo's Darkness Energy?

Author Topic: Anyone else notice Nintendo's Darkness Energy?

Member # 122649

posted August 03, 2003 09:44 PM      Profile for The_Deuce   Email The_Deuce    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I just noticed this... Darkness Energy states:

"If the pokémon Darkness Energy is attached to attacks, the attack does 10 more damage to the active pokémon (before applying weakness and resistance.) Ignore this effect unless the Attacking pokémon is [D] or has Dark in its name. Darkness Energy provides [D] Energy. (Doesn't count as a basic energy card.)"

Well, Metal Energy's effects are still after weakness/resistance, and since it's a Nintendo card we can't get an official ruling or anything, so any thoughts on whether it's a mistake or did they mean to change it?

1337 + 666 = 2003 (Proof that it's the year of elite evil...)

AIM: TheTruePlatinum

Apprentice plzkthx

From: :noitacoL | Registered: Jan 2003  |  IP: Logged

Member # 184

posted August 03, 2003 09:49 PM      Profile for IPGeek21   Email IPGeek21    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
This is only speculation, NO GOOD asking us for an official word.

Time will tell how we get official rulings.

Play as written... except at DCI tourneys.

[ August 03, 2003, 09:54 PM: Message edited by: IPGeek21 ]

Drafts bring out the BEST of the WORST cards in Pokemon
*TC Member/WizpogMOD_Squad/Master_Prof*
+GodFather to an Angel:RIP-Paloma Geronimo
Team Random
Proud bro of SSJ3DVP11
SHUT UP & DO something about it

From: The here, BUT WHERE shall we go? | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Raymond Lalic
Member # 115882

posted August 03, 2003 10:03 PM      Profile for Raymond Lalic   Email Raymond Lalic    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
If anyone could remember one of the new rules for Pokemon TCG under Nintendo rules , the effects of metal and darknrss energy cards are applied only to dark type and metal type pokemon respectively and not for the other types.

When the TCG goes to Nintendo, these rulings are now applied for all printed sets of the energy cards. (Check the R&S rule book if you have one).

However, if you are playing a DCI-sanction type or Wizards the old rules still apply.

To avoid confusion use the dark and metal cards for the previous sets. [Smile]


From: Manila, Philippines | Registered: Nov 2002  |  IP: Logged

Member # 42315

posted August 04, 2003 03:01 AM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
In the new Nintendo rulebook the sequence for calculating damage is specified on page 17.

I don't have a link but here is a summary...

a) start with base damage

b) figure out effects on attacking pokémon. eg Darkness energy or Ralt's Link Blast.

stop if the result is zero

c) apply weakness

d) apply resistance

e) figure out effects from trainers and energy cards on the defending pokémon

f) apply effects from defending pokemons last attack. apply pokemon powers on defending

g) place the damage

h) do everything else after the damage.


so placing a dark energy on a dark pokémon increases the base damage by 10. Being weak to Darkness types could be much like being weak to fighting (Tyrogue) in the current environment [Wink]

'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged

Member # 73173

posted August 04, 2003 09:13 AM      Profile for RaNd0m   Email RaNd0m    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Oh my GOD, it's THE DEUCE! How's it going THE DEUCE? Really THE DEUCE? That's GREAT THE DEUCE.

I don't think it's a mistake. It's kinda cool, it means if you beat up with Sneasel ex with 2 darkness against a psychic pokemon, and get 2 heads... you do 40 + 20 x 2 = 120. Normally, that'd only be 100... I think Nintendo meant for it to be that way (it actually is a lot less confusing). It simply adds to the base damage of the attack now.

~ RaNd0m

The Pojo dude who writes articles regarding the game.


Major Tourneys
Wigglymaker 5-0 Chicago Mall Tour (2000) (1st)
The Bat Trap 8-1 Indianapolis QT (1st)
Crobat's Back, alright! 7-1 St. Louis GC (1st)
Arithmestoise 6-3 Pokemon World Championships 2002 (12th)

~ RaNd0m the Professor ;D

From: Illinois...=\ | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged

All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | | Privacy Statement

Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0