my profile | search | faq | all boards index
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Wizards.Com Boards   » Card Rulings and Strategies   » Crystal Energy Quandry

   
Author Topic: Crystal Energy Quandry
Otaku

Member # 42359



posted July 09, 2003 09:56 AM      Profile for Otaku   Email Otaku    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Sorry, I checked back two pages and 20 daays ago and saw no topics for this, and I don't recall seeing the answer I am looking for in the Compendium or in any of the trheads from when it first came out. My questions is, does Crystal Energy check continuously, jsut once when attached, or at a specific point in the turn order. I ask because have been testing a deck with the "e-Legendery" Birds: AQ Zapdos, SK Articuno, and SK Moltres. I need to know if whether or I can slap on a Crystal Energy, and use their first attack to try and suck up the correct energy type, or if when I use Energy Switch to move a Fire to Moltres from Zapdos, the Crystal Energy will now give me two Fire Energy on Moltres. To me, it amkes sense for it to check continuously, since attatched energy can change frequently. It would require extra book-keeping to record that Moltress had a Water on it when I first attached Crystal Energy, particularly if I used Energy Switch to boot that water to another Pokemon, like Articuno.

Thank you for your assistance.

--------------------
Imakuni Rules!

You can reach me at Otakutron on AIM and nihon_game_otaku on Yahoo Messenger.

From: Iowa | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
yoshi1001

Member # 825



posted July 09, 2003 10:00 AM      Profile for yoshi1001   Email yoshi1001    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
As far as I know, the check is continuous, changing with conditions.

--------------------
Visit Pokéwatch!

Listen to PIRN, the Pokémon Internet Radio Network. We have interviews with Master Trainer Mike, Kierin Chase, and more, as well as your favorite Pokémon music! PIRN: The number 1 Pokémon Internet Radio Station!

PIRN: The Magazine

PIRN Message Boards

GCAbGEbGF

AIM: yoshi1001

From: Janesville, Wisconsin | Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
RabidRaichu

Member # 36118



posted July 09, 2003 11:37 AM      Profile for RabidRaichu      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
I seem to recall this having been discussed in one of the thursday chats. When no energy is currently attached to to a pokemon and you attach Crystal Energy, you get one colorless energy. When one colored energy, say Lightning, is attached already (or attached afterwards), you get the equivalent of two Lightning Energy. If you have, say, one Grass and one Lightning energy attached, then you can choose which one the Crystal energy will provide. I think you only need to determine which type it will be when you are using the energy to pay for something, like an attack cost.

--------------------
*******************************

I want to believe!

*******************************

From: Modesto, CA | Registered: Aug 2001  |  IP: Logged
ShadowCard

Member # 2104



posted July 09, 2003 12:14 PM      Profile for ShadowCard      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
we've had this "choosing the energy provided" discussion before. It's automatically chosen as, in your example, 1 grass and 1 lightning at the same time. If the attack says you need to discard all lightning, you discard the crystal too because its lightning, even though its also grass. If i didn't get that right, i'm doomed when someone asks me. Hope i didn't confuse you, it confused me when it was explained.

--------------------
"And there came a hero who said: Hurt not the earth, nor the sea, nor the trees, nor the very fabric of time, but the hero would not prevail...nor would he surrender."

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
NoPoke

Member # 42315


posted July 09, 2003 03:12 PM      Profile for NoPoke   Email NoPoke    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
you are right shadowcard... you have no choice as to what energy types a crystal energy card provides. Its a mini-rainbow where the spectrum of colours it provides is determined by which basic energies are attached.

--------------------
========================================
'Good News' or 'Bad News' but NOT NO NEWS

some people brag about their tournament results, me I'm gonna brag??? about what players have managed to get past me LOL

-------Hoodwinked---(things I won't get wrong again...)------

'legal stalling' : game loss at least
'only joking' on misreported match results: DQ Yep its that serious!
The prize swap penalty as it applies to shuffling.

From: Crawley England | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged
Porygone3
Member
Member # 73689



posted July 09, 2003 04:51 PM      Profile for Porygone3      Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
it gets crazy if you convert basic engery with porygon2 and have crystal attached... as the crystal checks and sees the basic engery that the card is and becomes that- and yet the engery its checking is providing something else.

--------------------
Erica total 24, thats right, 24.
Dunsprace total 41.
I've gotten 98 on that Machoke at work game. I beat Driving Corasola.
I almost beat the record in Hold Down hip hop. I got 2000 or so in Kinglers day. I got 7 in Rapadash's dash. Butterfree's Flower Power 4700. 123 In Jumping Dodoro. My all foil deck is finished.

"I've got floating engery."
"I've got counter productive Powers."

"One heart can make a diferance."
"Rock the world baby, rock the world."
"Roll out!!"

From: USA | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
PokePop

Member # 8



posted July 09, 2003 06:34 PM      Profile for PokePop   Email PokePop    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
quote:
Originally posted by Porygone3:
it gets crazy if you convert basic engery with porygon2 and have crystal attached... as the crystal checks and sees the basic engery that the card is and becomes that- and yet the engery its checking is providing something else.

By George, I think he's got it!

--------------------
"This kind of makes you miss the compendium..." - Martin Moreno

The Compendium: http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net

Registered: Feb 2001  |  IP: Logged
Otaku

Member # 42359



posted July 10, 2003 02:14 PM      Profile for Otaku   Email Otaku    Edit/Delete Post Report This Thread to Moderators
Thanks, I just watned to verify since a few people I have battled on-line weren't sure and I needed to know before I went and got all the cards. Checking continuously, as I said, was the only thing that made sense to me, but a few players I respect thought it was at initial attachement (which puts me at a disadvantage).

Thanks again.

--------------------
Imakuni Rules!

You can reach me at Otakutron on AIM and nihon_game_otaku on Yahoo Messenger.

From: Iowa | Registered: Sep 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are Pacific Time  
   Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Contact Us | www.Wizards.com | Privacy Statement



Powered by Infopop Corporation
Ultimate Bulletin BoardTM 6.2.0

ShopGamesBooksMagazinesStoresEventsCompanyWorldwideCommunity