Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Top tier strategies?

Maelstrom

I'm new to this game but not to TCGs. I have several years of general experience with Yu-Gi-Oh and Magic The Gathering so I'm familiar with the basic thought behind strategies, no matter how complex. I simply need to know what is top tier in this game. All that I've seen so far is Empoleon and Magmator/Leafeon LvX, but I'm sure that there are plenty more viable / top tier strategies that someone could use. If anyone could list a few of these strategies and explain what they are and/or give someone who's just now getting into this game some general tips, it would be greatly appreciated.

The top deck this season is Gardelade.(Gardevoir, Gallade). It is good because it stops your opponet from using their essential pokepowers and does good damage.

Like he said, GG is best deck in format. SO good in fact there's a huge complaint about it in another forum. If you play the deck, you will do better than you would have played another deck.

GG is basically the new rocklock, im not sure which is more annoying. I think GG is more because it completely gets rid of ideas I have for competitve decks, just for them to get owned by 5/6 players using GG.

My advice is to wait, because the format is about to shift on September 1 to Diamond and Pearl cards and newer. This will change all of the popular decks and present new ones. Then you can prepare a deck for that format. Right now, it would be pointless for you to spend money to get cards for this format's top tier deck because there are no tournaments you could attend (unless you are attending Worlds), and many of the cards you would have bought will become illegal.