Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

3rd Place Master's Report

Tom Dolezal

For those of you that don’t know me, my name is Tom Dolezal. I don’t actually play the Pokémon tcg a lot; I don’t own any cards and I only play in one tournament a year (nationals), possibly two if I make it to worlds. This is mostly because I’m a graduate student, and that takes up a lot of my time, so I don’t really have a chance to play the game during the school year. This year, I was lucky enough to qualify for worlds through a T8 at nationals. This wasn’t really a rare occurrence though, as I’ve finished with two T32s, one T16, two T8s, 4th, and 2nd in the 7 years that I attended nationals.

I had played typhlosion/reshiram for nationals. Because the deck fit my play style well and was a solid deck overall, I decided to use it for worlds. Just prior to worlds, there had been a long discussion about running it without ninetails, and just using extra draw supporters instead. I felt that this left the deck too vulnerable to a mid-game judge and opted to run the ninetails version. Seeing as how 8/10 decks that I played against were some kind of yanmega/magnezone/kingdra variant (all of which ran judge to my knowledge), I feel that this was the correct play. I won’t post my decklist here, but it was just a very basic, highly consistent list without any tech cards. I had worked a lot with Drew Holton and Andrew Mondak to perfect the Typhlosion/reshiram list, and I ended up running the same list as Mondak did at Worlds. I’ll also extend a huge thank you to Chris Silver, who let me borrow the cards to make the deck, and an unknown junior player from the playtesting area, who gave me a fire energy.

Prior to the actual tournament, I just hung out with my friends and played a few testing games, most of which were the mirror. I had actually managed to get enough sleep this year, so I was well rested for round one:

Round 1 vs. Jackson Iler with yanmega/magnezone/kingdra