Absol and Evolution items.

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Mewstor, Oct 31, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Mewstor

    Mewstor New Member

    What is the difference in Absol's second attack and the evolution items on Clefairy, Murkrow and Duskull?

    How come Clefairy, Murkrow or Duskull can evolve on their first turn after setup, but Absol can't do 40 damage on it's first turn after setup with Raid?

    On Clefairy for example it says "Clefairy can evolve during the turn you play it."

    And Absol's Raid says "If you played Absol from your hand during this turn, this attack's base damage is 40 instead of 10"

    What's the difference in the wording that makes Clafairy, Murkrow or Duskull able to evolve but Absol's attack still does only 10? Is it the "from your hand" part?

    Is setup somehow a part of your first turn (the turn you play the card and then it can evolve)?

    Earlier answers...

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=62056 On Absol.

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=62053 On evolution items.

    Hope you understand what I mean.
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    If you need to pick specific wording to make the difference, the "from your hand during this turn" would be it.

    Bear in mind that the cards are translated and sometimes wording is not as clear as you might desire.
    If you wish to debate whether there should be a difference or not, the Single Cards Strategy and Rulings forum is available.

Share This Page