April 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Apr 16, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey,I was able to get this for ya`s before I left this morning.Enjoy!

    `Sensei
    -----------------------

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * April 15th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == WONDER GUARD (Shedinja - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Does Shedinja's "Wonder Guard" Poke-BODY prevent placing of damage
    counters?
    A. Yes, it does. (Apr 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA SMASH (Team Aqua's Sharpedo - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Aqua's Sharpedo's "Aqua Smash" says, "If the defending pokemon
    is affecting by a special condition, this attack does 50 damage plus 20
    more damage." What if the defending pokemon has more than one special
    condition? Like what if the defending pokemon is burned, poisoned, and
    asleep, do they take 50 plus 20 more for every special condition?
    A. No, you only get a maximum of +20 if it is affected by ANY special
    condition (not for EACH condition). (Apr 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ARCHIE / MAXIE (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    [CHRISBO NOTE: Add correct date to this entry; I forgot it last week.]
    Q. If I Archie or Maxie a Stage 2 Pokemon down, can I place a Double
    Rainbow Energy on it?
    A. Sorry, but DRE can only be attached to an Evolved Pokemon, and
    Archie & Maxie specifically state to treat the retrieved card as a Basic
    Pokemon. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == CRYSTAL SHARD (Skyridge)

    Q. If I have a Darkness Energy attached to a Darkness-type Pokemon (or
    one with "Dark" in its name), and then I attach a Crystal Shard to that
    Pokemon, does it get to use the Darkness Energy card's +10 bonus damage
    or not?
    A. When you attach a Crystal Shard the Pokemon becomes Colorless, so
    you would no longer get the +10 bonus for that. However, if the Pokemon
    has "Dark" in its name, that particular attribute is NOT affected by
    the Crystal Shard and you would get the +10 bonus in that situation. (Apr
    15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. So if I put Crystal Shard on TM's Groudon, it becomes Colorless. But
    would it do 4 X damage to a Colorless Weak Pokémon? Do Dual Types have
    2 types or are they only 1 type that consists of 2 umm errrr types?
    A. Just because a Pokemon starts out with two types doesn't mean that
    Crystal Shard makes it a "double colorless" type. Only one colorless;
    it would not do 4x damage. (Apr 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA ENERGY / MAGMA ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Aqua Energy & Magma Energy state that they can only be attached to a
    Pokémon of the corresponding team name. What happens if I play a card,
    or attack, or Pokemon Power, etc. that lets me move it to a Pokémon
    that is on the opposite team, or to no team at all?
    A. Aqua Energy & Magma Energy can only be moved onto another Pokémon of
    the same team name. You cannot move an Aqua Energy onto a Team Magma
    Pokemon or one without "Team Aqua" in its name (and vice versa). (Apr
    15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == DARKNESS ENERGY (various sets)

    Q. If I have a Darkness Energy attached to a Darkness-type Pokemon (or
    one with "Dark" in its name), and then I attach a Crystal Shard to that
    Pokemon, does it get to use the Darkness Energy card's +10 bonus damage
    or not?
    A. When you attach a Crystal Shard the Pokemon becomes Colorless, so
    you would no longer get the +10 bonus for that. However, if the Pokemon
    has "Dark" in its name, that particular attribute is NOT affected by
    the Crystal Shard and you would get the +10 bonus in that situation. (Apr
    15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == DOUBLE RAINBOW ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Double Rainbow Energy states that it can only be attached to an
    Evolved Pokémon. What happens if I play a card, or attack, or Pokemon
    Power, etc. that lets me move it to a Basic Pokémon? Or can I move it to an
    evolved -EX Pokemon (like Swampert-EX)?
    A. Double Rainbow Energy can only be moved onto another Evolved
    Pokémon, excluding -EX Pokemon. (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q3;
    Apr 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS BEEN CLARIFIED FURTHER; See Above
    *****
    Q. Double Rainbow Energy states that it can only be attached to an
    Evolved Pokémon. What happens if I play a card [or attack, or Pokemon
    Power, etc.] that lets me move it to a Basic Pokémon?
    A. Double Rainbow Energy can only be moved onto another Evolved
    Pokémon. (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q3)


    Q. If I have to discard a Double Rainbow Energy as part of an attack
    that says to discard all cards of a chosen energy type, do I still have
    to take the -10 penalty for DRE or not?
    A. Yes you would still apply the -10 penalty. In the attack step, when
    you make choices, you state which cards you'll be discarding. In the
    damage calculation step, you figure out the damage first, and then
    discard the Energy required after damage has been dealt. (Apr 15, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page