Banette SW has been Mistranslated!!!

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Magic_Umbreon, Jan 4, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Some cards in the past like Electrode ex have found to have been mistranslated and thus erratad to what they should be. As Banette is quite popular now, if it had been mistranslated it would have a big effect on play.

    Spoilers on pokébeach translated the card differently... so someone had to be wrong.

    Does anyone have any tips on how to compare japanese text to find out or does anyone know its been translated right?

    Maybe I'm wrong but the phrasing on ghost head is just so strange compared to the way other cards work.
     
  2. Jayson

    Jayson Active Member

    What translation are you looking at? And what is so strange about ghost head's text?
     
  3. KazamBolt

    KazamBolt Active Member

    Ghost head originally said that Banette can't kill itself. Now, it just can't do MORE than killing itself.
     
  4. doppelganger

    doppelganger New Member

    but if ban can kill himself in english, and not in japanese, then that means the japanese have a serious meagaming problem.
     
  5. Scipio

    Scipio New Member

    Well, keep in mind that the translations aren't always instantly correct. I remember Mew stating that he could use attacks from your own discard.
     
  6. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    There were spoilers on pokébeach. Ghost head is strange for the reason KazamBlot made and also because it's weird for pokémon to KO themselves by placing counters. Usually those sorts of attacks have a "as long as you don't KO x" clause and Banette doesn't. Lots changes in SW I suppose, it just caught my eye.
     
  7. doppelganger

    doppelganger New Member

    i think i remember the spoilers on here saying that banette can't ko himself. maybe thats why i've been playing it like that.
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yes, usually a Pokemon can't KO itself, but there are a couple of Pokemon in this set that can.
    Also note that it works well with his other attack, so it's not surprising that it can do that.

    We'll ask about it, but unless Bangiras brings up some text to indicate that it can't KO itself the way she brought up text on other cards that were wrong, I expect that it will stay as it is.
     
  9. Tagrineth

    Tagrineth New Member

    This surprised me too Saturday when I saw it done.
     
  10. charmander rox

    charmander rox New Member

    They don't always translate right for the spoilers. PokeBeach's Gabite once forced you to place 4 damage counters on your own Pokemon.
     
  11. Ikari

    Ikari New Member

    OMG!!! New Poke on the Block!!! Pokebeach's Gabite!!! :lol:
     
  12. manicgiraffe

    manicgiraffe New Member

    It is a couple of fans' major efforts, as opposed to a commercial translation department. I think they do a heck of a good job, and its reassuring that different people cross-reference the work.

    I just had a glance at the scan of the Japanese version. Eeek, that is one intimidating mix of JP scripts. I knew the names were in Katakana, so I wasn't expecting the card text to be a full-on splurge of everything.

    http://www.pokebeach.com/sets/dp3/banette.jpg WPM doesn't mind, right?

    Hm, don't think I'm going to give translation a go just at the minute.... :S
    MG
     
  13. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    I have a Japanese friend who would probably give me tips or help translate it but I'll have a go at looking at Japanese scans of cards with the same text (e.g. the text for place damage counters) and see if there's a diference. Should be fun but I doubt I'll get anywhere.
     
  14. Tego

    Tego New Member

    What, you're allowed to let a Banette knock itself out in the English version? That's a wrong translation.

    My younger brother, who's a Junior player in Norway, came to Japan for Christmas and used BanBliss in a Japanese tournament. The Banettes in his deck are in Japanese, so he can't read the card, just know what it does. In a match versus Nanimonoka, my brother tried to knock out his Banette DP3 to knock out Nanimonoka's Banette ex that already had 10 damage. Nanimonoka said it was impossible to do that, but my little brother didn't get why because this isn't the way he was used to the card being played back in Norway.

    I walked over to see what was wrong, and read the card in Japanese. The card really said that it couldn't knock out itself in the Japanese text. I thought I and my brother just remembered the text of the English card incorrectly, but now it really seems like the card is being played differently in Japan and outside Japan. This should be checked with PUI as soon as possible!

    Back to back posts merged. The following information has been added:

    There are several mistakes on this one. To be honest, I don't even understand fully how you marked this and what you mean.

    Anyway, look at the second red marking you have. The sentence which starts there and finishes at the end of the parentheses in line #2 is the key sentence: You can't place damage counters until the point where Banette is out of HP.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  15. MrMeches

    MrMeches New Member

    TEGO,

    Could you please post this in the ATM Forum and included your experience in Japan so that we could get the corrected ruling on this before States occur? It would be in the best interest of all English Players to have the corrected information.

    THanks!!

    ~Prof. Fish~
     
  16. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Just a couple notes. Bangiras & Nanimonoka do a great job on the spoilers; they can be found on PokeGym (front page upper left). Obviously, sometimes they miss some nuances of translation, but often they have a better nuance. Indeed, Bangiras is responsible for finding 3 errors in this set. TC, as Pop said, will bring Ghost Head to the rules team, as it seems important to clarify.
     
  17. MrMeches

    MrMeches New Member

    All of our Gym Staff and Volunteers do a FANTASTIC Job with everything!! I understand that some things get lost in Translation and this one particular item could be very important for some that play Banette!

    Thanks Snore and the rest of TC for their diligence on getting things taken care of and sometimes making the tough call on situational cards! We couldn't keep it going without all of you!!

    Will be interesting to hear the result and hopefully before States!

    ~Prof. Fish~
     
  18. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Hey thanks for everything! You're all legends.

    http://www.pokemon-card.com/card/details.php/card/3072 lists ghost head's text as:

    Putting that through google translater:

    And OMG I think I was right!
     
  19. Mew

    Mew New Member

    Hmm, well this card just lost alot of potential in my eyes :(
     
  20. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Yup, me too. I see a "Is Banette unplayable after the errata" thread coming up after it's confirmed :)

    But think about it, when it can't KO itself it's a lot harder to make use of with the second attack. Then there's the general lower damage and the fact that when banette's HP is low, Absol has resistance and just laughs after you played shuppet and an energy making your hand saturated with trainers. So it hasn't just lost teh ability to counter Absol, it's now vulnerable. Ouch, poor Banette.
     

Share This Page