Bastiodon Questions

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by eriknance, Aug 31, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eriknance

    eriknance New Member

    I have two questions concerning Bastiodon:

    1. Suppose a Pokemon hits Bastiodon for damage that is negated completely by resistance and/or the presence of Metal Special Energy. Is Bastiodon considered to be "damaged" by that attack? That is, does the effect on Bastiodon's "Anger Revenge" get activated when it is hit but not damaged?

    2. Say the effect of Bastiodon's attack is activated by damage from the opponent's Pokemon. If Bastiodon is sent to the bench but becomes active again, does it lose that damage bonus?

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Damage is calculated after all effects are applied, per the expert rules:
    http://www.go-pokemon.com/op/strategy/rulebook.html

    So, if some effect(s) reduce damage to zero, Bastiodon is NOT damaged and the extra damage from his attack is NOT triggered.

    --

    Looking at Machamp's "Revenge", Machamp does not have to be in play when the knock-out took place, per the Compendium ex, "because both players know the knock-out took place". Since Bastiodon does not receive an effect from being attacked, but rather its attack tests to see if it was damaged from an attack last turn. Both players know if it was damaged, and therefore benching it does not prevent the extra damage. As long as that particular Bastiodon remained in play since it was damaged during last turns attack, its attack does the extra damage.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page