Black Fire makes you choose one effect with Multi-type Energies?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Feb 4, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    The question is what happens if you discard a Multi-type Energy to activate the extra effect. While similar to Salamence SW's Dragon Finish, this effect is not restricted to discarding Basic Energy, so a Multi-type would be a valid discard to activate it.

    My Judge Sense suggests that you can only choose one of the two effects in this case -- you may discard a :fire: OR :dark: Energy, implying that a choice must be made between the two effects.

    (Also, apologies if this was answered in the PR FAQ -- I didn't make it to judge my PR this past Sunday due to illness.)
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2008
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Urrrrp! Excuse me, said the Dragon!

    Yep, both effects trigger (burn & extra damage) from discarding, say, Multi Energy. It _is_ in the FAQ, but compare the Compendium EX rulings on Dragon Burst & Ancient Mantra for precedent. Interesting that Dragon Burst was an overrule of a prior, opposite ruling.

Share This Page