Can I play cards on Pokémon with Omega Barrier / Unnerve for no effects?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by DaddyPlaysTCG, May 26, 2018.

8 league13 468 60
  1. DaddyPlaysTCG

    DaddyPlaysTCG New Member

    Are there any no-effect-from-public-knowledge legal card plays?

    Why this question:
    The two compedium answers referenced below seem to imply that my Lysandre or Guzma can target my opponent's benched Pokémon with Omega Barrier or Unnerve for no effect, but don't confirm it.
    The compendium answer about Eneporter & Unnerve possibly refers to this issue, but is not clear.
    The compendium has helped a lot but in this case I don't know if I can e.g. burn a Field Blower on Pyroar's tool. Is it the case that a card be played, even for no effect, when that card could be played (with an effect) if Omega Barrier and Unnerve were ignored? What's the general rule?

    1. If Lysandre and Guzma can't be played for no effect, expand the two compedium answers to make that clear. If they can, consider just stating that in those answers too.
    2. Do something about the Eneporter vs. Unnerve compendium entry...

    Omega Barrier Ancient Trait (Primal Clash #86 Primal Groudon-EX):
    Whenever your opponent plays a Trainer card (excluding Pokémon Tools and Stadium cards), prevent all effects of that card done to this Pokémon.​
    Unnerve Ability (Forbidden Light #19 Pyroar):
    Whenever your opponent plays an Item or Supporter card from their hand, prevent all effects of that card done to this Pokémon.​
    Compendium answers that seem to imply no-effect use ("you do not get to switch" rather than "you would not get to switch so you can't play Guzma"):
    Please note there's a typo in the second question: not "my benched Pokémon" but "his benched Pokémon" or "my opponent's benched Pokémon".

    Unclear compedium answer about Unnerve:
    Unclear points:
    1. The effect of Eneporter, if any, is not clearly described. Wouldn't Unnerve just block the attaching part of Eneporter's effect, with the result that the Special Energy is discarded?
    2. The last sentence seems to be an unclear answer to an unclear implicit question, possibly the question I'm asking. Does it allow or forbid no-net-effect card play? "The game state itself", whatever that is, should include the presence of an active Unnerve ability, right?

    Please clarify when a card can be played for no effect as known from the public game state, if there's such a thing, and if there's not, consider making some compendium answers clearer.
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You are confusing "doing something for no effect" with "doing something and the effect being blocked".
    Those are not the same thing.
    They may wind up with the same result, but they are different.
    So you can play something that has a valid target for its effect, and then an Ability (or something else) could negate that effect from taking place.
    You can play Field Blower and target the tool on Pyroar, and then its Ability will block that effect from completing.

    Yes, that should be clarified that the Special Energy would move off of its original location and then be discarded when trying to attach it to Pyroar.
    Or, if it starts off on Pyroar, then it can't be moved from it.
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page