Clarification needed on Rayquaza

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by BANGINBOX, Mar 17, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. BANGINBOX

    BANGINBOX New Member

    Hey ,

    I know that this was answered somewhere before, but i need to know the following....

    If my opponent has a rayquaza EX with 1 electric energy and 1 multi energy,
    1) do both get discarded reguardless?
    2) how much damage would it do?

    I told them that Both energies get discarded for a total of "80" damage.

    was this correct?
    and how would I explain for them to understand?
    jimmy
     
  2. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Multi provides both fire and lightning.

    For Rayquazza's attack you declare which type you intend to discard.

    with a multi and a lightning attached to Rayquazza

    If you pick fire then only the multi is discarded for 40 damage.

    If you pick lightning then both are discarded for 80 damage.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2004
  3. dld4a

    dld4a Feature Writer

    Nopoke is correct. "They" need to understand that Multi. Rnbw., and DRE provide all types at the same time, but only 1,1, and 2 respectivly. You can't chose which type, they're all there at the same time.
     
  4. cleffa3000

    cleffa3000 New Member

    If Clefable has 2 lightning energy and uses Metronome on Rayquaza, it does 80 damage
    and retains its energy, right??
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No!
    Clefable only ignores energy discards if they have the phrase "in order to attack", or something similar.
    In this example, Clefable could choose Fire, keep the two L energy cards and do 0 damage, or choose Lightning and do 80. But then it would have to discard the 2 L.
     
  6. dld4a

    dld4a Feature Writer

    I think Clefable could attack if it only had one NRG on it. If it were lightning or fire you could choose to discard it for fourty, or choose the other color that is not attached for zero. Basicaly Clefable has to discard NRG if the amount of damage is tied to the amount of NRG discarded. Clefable only has to pay for Metronome's NRG cost, "1 Colorless".
     
  7. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yes. Thankfully they came to their senses and Rainbow is to be played as we have always understood it: all colors, all the time, even if it has been used to "fill" a specific color attack cost.
     
  9. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

    I couldn't find that specific ruling in either the compendium or in the "Ask the Masters" board PokePop.

    Do you have the link?
     
  10. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    We may not have put it in. It was part of a discussion of rulings being waited on.
    Let me check.
     
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Here, this is the final wording of the ruling.
    Note that it is a reversal of the Dragon FAQ:

     
  12. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

    Thanks PokePop.

    Does this means that the Rainbow Energy would be discarded for Dragon Burst regardless of the other basic energy attached to Rayquaza-EX?
     
  13. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    YES Rainbow is always discarded as it will always satisfy a 'discard all <type> energy' cost
     

Share This Page