Clefable Jungle, a more up to date ruling

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by ShadowCard, Mar 21, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    - from Clefable, Jungle.

    I was looking for a more up to date ruling to make sure I understand how this version of Metronome works. The entry in the Compendium ex has the Metronome on Jungle Clefable grouped with the Metronome on Clefable ex, but they are worded differently.

    How does this attack work if it is copying an Infernape LvX's Flare Up? Since having 8 fire energy cards in the discard pile is required in order to use the attack (the phrase "this attack does nothing if..." = "in order to use this attack", right?), Metronome successfully copies Flare Up even if its player doesn't have atleast 8 fire energy cards in the discard pile, right?
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    This was actually easier than I first thought!
    It has been so long since this Metronome has been playable, I had forgotten this:

    So, basically, since it doesn't say "in order to", it is not ignored.
    You have to have the 8 Fire energy cards in the discard and shuffle them back in.

Share This Page