Crystal Beach, Scramble, Magmortar

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Vegetasou, Feb 1, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Vegetasou

    Vegetasou New Member

    Say I have a Magmortar active.

    My opponent has a Crystal Beach out.

    I am down in prizes.

    Now when I attach my activated scramble to magmortar, do I heal 20? In other words, does the Scramble come into play and activate (three rainbows) and then heals mag, then crystal beach kicks in and turn it into one colorless? Thanks!
     
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Scramble, reading the card, has to be in-play to provide all types of energy. Normally, attaching it while behind on prizes WOULD count as attaching a Fire energy and trigger Magmortar's Flame Body healing.

    HOWEVER, Crystal Beach locks Scramble to a single colorless while in-play.

    Therefore, with Crystal Beach active, Scramble can't trigger Flame Body.

    As an aside, there are no general 'coming into play' state, in applying effects. When the affect is applied, the item is considered in play, even if playing it from your hand is required as part of the trigger. Otherwise, Scramble would NEVER trigger Flame Body. Think about it.
     

Share This Page