Crystal Shard vs. other type-change effects

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Nov 24, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    The current rulings state that Crystal Shard overrides any other type-change effects:

    My question is, what is it about Crystal Shard that causes it to override the other effects? It doesn't seem consistent with other established rules (particularly the ones covering multiple simultaneous effects). Or is this one of those "Japan said it's this way and that's that" things?

    Bonus Question: Do any other cards act like this? (Only if you can think of them off-hand, don't waste your free time researching for me.)
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Crystal Shard is a continuous effect. It says "As long as Crystal Shard is attached to a Pokemon ..." The effects you are referring to are activated at a point in time, but since Crystal Shard is continuous, it changes the type back to :colorless right away.

    BDS
     

Share This Page