Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Cumbernauld Special Event Report

Mike130593

Before I start I want to say this is not strictly a state championships, it was a premier rated event with the states promo and at the same time as states.

I am fairly new to the pokemon tcg, I started playing at the Triumphant pre release. Since I have started, I have played a machamp deck but since there is not much SP in my meta I decided to play Luxchomp. It was a fairly standard list with not many suprises apart from the fact I ran two Roserade GL. I had toyed around with playing ERL but in the end I chose consistency instead.

I arrived at the venue at half ten to find a decent turn out. It was going to be four rounds with no top cut. The games were bet of one which isnt great but I wasnt to bothered.

Without further ado here is the report.

Game 1 vs Tyranitar prime/ Vileplume

I started first with only Uxie active and pass. The thing I remember about this game is how he got a bit lucky and set up extremely quickly. By the time his first turn had ended he had two T-tar prime set up with one active. After this It was difficult to get into the game, the Tyranitar had 160hp so I dragon rushed a gloom that was being set up on the bench to give myself a chance, the last thing I needed was trainer lock. However he proceded to load energy onto t-tar prime and tank. The only time I took another prizes was when I locked his azelf with Roserade GL. This match was frustrating as I felt that if it was best of 3 I may of had a chance however his quick setup killed me. My choice to take promocroak out my deck probably contributed to my loss here.

0-1

Game 2 vs Donphan

The second match was much easier, the person I was playing was fairly new at not particularly familiar with a lot of the cards. Anyway there isnt much to say, I bright looked and dragon rushed around the Donphan and won easily.

1-1

Game 3 vs Typhlosion prime with ER