Curiousity killed the Wobbufett?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by MetallicKingScizor, Apr 15, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. MetallicKingScizor

    MetallicKingScizor New Member

    If a Wobbuffet with 10 hp kills a pokemon, and does 10 damage to itself who dies first? And if it's last prize each, who wins?

    I know this question dates back to when self-destruct was confusing, but I can't remember how that was ruled though.

    Does the person with the Wobbuffet win because it does damage to the defending pokemon first and then the 10 damage to itself? Or does it kill itself and then the defending pokemon?

    Curiousity is weird.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2004
  2. professorbix

    professorbix New Member

    regarding damage....the defending is knocked out, then wobbufett is knocked out, then the turn ends. so it would be a draw. depending on the situation this would lead to " sudden death" a 1 prize "quick match"
     
  3. Noah121

    Noah121 Active Member

    If a Wobbuffet with 10 HP uses its "Flip Over" attack and causes a KO, both are KO'd simultaneously (at the same time). Remember, with attacks, the order is (if I remember correctly):
    1) Check for damage.
    2) Check for effects.
    3) Check for Knock-Outs.
    Since both are KO'd, both players draw a Prize card (the person who attacked draws a Prize first). Then, if it's both players' last Prize cards respectively, here's what happens:
    a) If your opponent has no other Pokémon in play and you do, you WIN THE GAME.
    b) If you have no other Pokémon in play and your opponent does, you LOSE THE GAME.
    c) If both players have other Pokémon in play, PLAY SUDDEN DEATH.
    d) If neither player have other Pokémon in play, PLAY SUDDEN DEATH.

    Remember, Sudden Death is a regular game but played for only one Prize card.
     
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    If both were knocked out, you would then look to see if either player could replace their active with a Benched Pokemon.
    If only one could, that player would win because they won by two win conditions while the other only won by one.

    Otherwise it's a tie.
     
  5. dld4a

    dld4a Feature Writer

    What if both could replace thier active but the one who had not attacked had no card to draw at the begining of thier turn. Would that fill the two conditions rule, or would it be sudden death because that condition happens on the next turn.
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    The card draw doesn't come into play at the end of the turn, since, as you say, it doesn't happen until the beginning of the next turn.
     
  7. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

    Just as Pop said,

    To quote the rulebook,
     
  8. registeel

    registeel New Member

    lol nice choice of words for this thread..........
     

Share This Page