Ditto + TM2 v KO'd basic

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Magic_Umbreon, Aug 10, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Ditto has 5 damage counters on it and a Technical Machine 2 attached. The defending pokémon is an evolved form of a basic pokémon with 50 HP, and has 5 or more damage counters. Ditto uses TM2 to devolve the other pokémon into its basic, which now has only 50HP but has taken more damage than that.

    Is there any point at which Ditto's maximum HP becomes only 50 and so is KO'd because it has 5 damage counters, or is the defending pokémon KO'd before Ditto copies the HP and Ditto's HP becomes that of the newly promoted pokémon?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, Ditto doesn't become the newly promoted Pokemon until, well, it's promoted. And that happens long after the active Pokemon's HP has changed to 50.
    So, Ditto would KO himself at the same time.
     

Share This Page