evolving pokemons from different sets

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by dudeimindo, Feb 21, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. dudeimindo

    dudeimindo New Member

    can i evolve a nuzleaf *pk from a seedot*dp and evolve that nuzleaf to a shiftry*dp
    is it ohk if its from different sets?
  2. Jason

    Jason New Member

    you can do a DX seedot to a SS nuzleaf to a PK shiftry ex.... :)
  3. ShadowTogetic

    ShadowTogetic New Member

    It says "Evolves from Nuzleaf" not "Evolves from Nuzleaf from ex:Sandstorm"
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    In fact, there are cards from some sets that don't have the entire evolution line in that set.
    Honchkrow LvX from SW for example.

    You'd be stuck if you had to evolve only within a set!
  5. Mew*

    Mew* Active Member

    And also, it doesn't matter if a card is delta species, it can still evolve from or into a regular type. Just another good thing to know.
  6. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    and Alakazam MT. *opens can of worms*
  7. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    I've tried to open that can of worms but my spoons keep bending.
  8. Nevermore

    Nevermore New Member

    That's why Abra MT has an "evolve me!"-attack. *closes can of worms*
  9. Formula Nine

    Formula Nine New Member

    Don't mean to hijack, but it saves space instead of making another topic:

    Is it allowed for a regular Machoke to be evolved to a Dark Machamp (Team Rocket Set), or like Gym Leader Pokemon?
  10. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    IIRC, Dark Machamp says it needs to be evolved from Dark Machoke. Dark Pokemon usually exist for the Stage 1 and Stage 2 versions (never Basic), and thus to get the Dark Stage 2, you'll need the Dark Stage 1 (however, no Dark Basic means you can use any basic pokemon for that line)

    Gym Leader pokemon work similarly; they all say "Evolves from *Name*'s Pokemon". The difference is that there ARE Gym Leader Basics, meaning the whole line has to be "Blaine's", or whomever it is.

    ...Doesn't matter much for Modified play though, as there aren't any modified legal pokemon like that (Team Rocket Returns was the most recent set with Dark pokemon) :/

    And just to confuse people more, you can have 4 Mightyena, 4 Team Aqua's Mightyena, 4 Team Magma's Mightyena, AND 4 Mightyena EX in a deck. (If there were Dark Mightyena, you could have four of those too) All of those have different names, hence why you can have 4 of each. Note though that Delta isn't in a name, so you couldn't play 4 Mightyena delta in such a deck.

Share This Page