Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Format history, and current comparisons.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squirtle

<a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p
I've been playing this game for 9 years, and over the course of that time I've seen many formats come and go, however none have been like the current day format (DP-RR).

There has always been a dominate deck, and good hard counter to it.
1998-1999 Haymaker was the deck, Sponge was the "counter"
1999 Wigglytuff was the deck
2000 Sneasel/Anything was the deck - WOTC Banning sneasel was the counter
2000-2001: Gatr was the deck, Crobat was the counter.
2002-2003: umbreon/espeon/slowking was the deck, anything with igglybuff was a counter.
2003: The Abyss year with no OP
2004: Blaziken/RayEX was BDIF, Gardevoir and Magma were counters.
2005: Rocklock was BDIF, Medicham was the counter
2006: LBS ruled, Mewtric was the best counter. Delta was a good counter too.
2007: Metanite ruled all year. Speed Spread was best counter.
2008: Gardevoir/Gallade was clear BDIF. Empoleon was best counter.
2009: There is no BDIF, matchups play the most important part in winning a tournament.

This list is very accurate. But notice the comparisons. Every year there has been one deck. "one deck to rule them all".(+1 for getting the reference). With one deck, there is a counter. That equates to a healthy, more skill based format.

In this current format (DP-RR) there are a few pros and cons. The cons: literally 5+ decks that will all see play at nationals.

1)GeChamp
2)Gengar/Nidoqueen
3)SP Variants
4)Beedrill
5)Kingdra
6)Speed Machamp
7)Random deck with Machamp tech.

Machamp is a great card, and has been gaining in popularity since the release of SP Pokemon.

1)GeChamp. GeChamp has a good SP matchup, but a worse Beedrill and Kingdra matchups. Even some SP decks can succeed with the ability to get around Fainting Spell flips.