Infernape MD versus Double Rainbow Energy

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by smacktack15, Jun 3, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. smacktack15

    smacktack15 New Member

    Ok, this situation happened to me at the finals of a BR I went to.

    My opponent has 2 Basic Fire Energy and 1 DRE attached to his Active Infernape and uses Mega Bravo. He only discards the 2 Fire energy (Mega Bravo says discard all Fire Energy attached to Infernape) for 70 damaga to KO my Chatot MD. I call the Head Judge over and ask if he had to discard the DRE because it clearly provides fire energy. The judge ruled that the DRE didn't provide fire energy at that time so it wasn't discarded. So the question is...

    If you use Mega Bravo on Infernape and you have 2 basic fire energy and a DRE, do you have to discard all of do you have the choice to discard the 2 Fire energy and leave the DRE on the Infernape?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Often a judge's ruling is subjective based on the current situation.

    Unfortunately, this is not one of those cases.
    DRE provides all colors all the time. There is no choice about what colors it provides. The DRE would have to be discarded.

    This is a basic rule of the game and any head judge needs to be familiar with it.
     

Share This Page