==Jan.15,2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings==

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Jan 16, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Here ya go everyone!

    `Sensei
    -----------


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * January 15th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == STRANGE TENTACLES (Tentacruel - Aquapolis)

    Q. If I were to pull a Boost Energy onto my opponent's active using
    Tentacruel's PokePOWER, would the Boost be discarded at the end of the
    turn? Or would it stay on the Pokemon?
    A. It would get discarded. And remember, you can only use Strange
    Tentacles to attach it to an evolved Pokemon. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == BALLOON BERRY (Neo:Revelation; EX:Dragon)

    Q. What happens if a free retreater with Balloon Berry attached
    retreats? Does Balloon Berry get discarded in place of 0 cards?
    A. Even if you have no retreat cost, you must still discard the Balloon
    Berry when retreating. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == CLEFAIRY DOLL (Base Set)

    Q. Since I can use Mysterious Fossil as my starter pokemon, can I also
    choose to use a Clefairy Doll, since it basically does the same thing
    as Mysterious Fossil?
    A. Sorry, but Clefairy Doll has not been changed to allow for being a
    starting Pokemon. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == ENERGY SEARCH (Fossil; Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. If you use an Energy Search and don't find any Basic Energy, do you
    still discard the Energy Search? If so, can you then play another
    Energy Search, even though you know it will fail?
    A. You would still discard the first one. However, unless the contents
    of your deck change before playing the second one it would not be
    allowed. In other words, if you already know there isn't any energy in your
    deck, you really shouldn't play the second one. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == FAST BALL (Skyridge)

    Q. When using Fast Ball, if the very first card you turn up is an
    evolution, do you still have to shuffle your deck?
    A. If FastBall pulls an Evolution Card as the first revealed card, the
    deck is not shuffled as there are no as there are no "other revealed
    cards" to shuffle back in. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == POTION (Base Set; Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. The Expedition and Ruby/Sapphire versions of Potion says "remove 2
    damage counters", but the original version said "remove *UP TO* 2 damage
    counters". Which way should we play the card?
    A. You can only play Potion if you have 1 or 2 damage counters on that
    Pokemon. Zero counters will not allow you to use Potion. (Jan 15, 2004
    PUI Rules Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    [***CHRISBO NOTE: Adding clarification that Giovanni breaks the "no
    evolutions on first turn" rule that Jimmer laid down a couple of weeks ago
    ***]
    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on the first turn of a game (when Pokemon are
    not normally allowed to evolve)?
    A. No. There is nothing in the card that allows it to break this rule.
    Nothing evolves on the first turn of the game! [NOTE: The Giovanni
    trainer card is a rare exception that specifically permits an evolution on
    the first turn.] (Sep 11, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == BOOST ENERGY (Aquapolis)

    Q. If I were to pull a Boost Energy onto my opponent's active using
    Tentacruel's PokePOWER, would the Boost be discarded at the end of the
    turn? Or would it stay on the Pokemon?
    A. It would get discarded. And remember, you can only use Strange
    Tentacles to attach it to an evolved Pokemon. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page