Lt. Surge's Secret Plan + Baby Pokemon

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Marriland, Mar 27, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marriland

    Marriland New Member

    Alright, I've been dying to know this, because Lt. Surge's Secret Plan (LSSP) can rank right up there in complexity with Ditto.

    If I have a face-down card (we'll say it's a Fire Energy) with LSSP, it gets Active somehow, and my opponent is going to attack it. Do I have to flip it immediately to see if it's a Baby Pokemon (which is Step A is the order of attacks)?

    If so, and it isn't, do I immediately send out a Pokemon from my Bench to replace it with? And if the flipped card isn't a Basic Pokemon, and I send out a Baby Pokemon, would they then flip for the Baby Rule, because, unless I'm understanding the order of attacks wrong (big surprise there), wouldn't we still be in Step A?

    Here are the two steps, in order:

    So, I guess to simplify the question...

    If my opponent attacks the face-down card, and it isn't a Basic Pokemon, would I still be able to send out, say, a Cleffa and have them flip for the Baby Rule?

    Thanks :D
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    and

    So you flip it to see if it's a Baby and if it's not, the attack is against the LSSP'd card which then gets discarded.
    The new Pokemon does not get made active until the attack resolves. (or fizzles).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 30, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page