Magcargo/Illumise GE Is there a Metarule Here?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by totoro, Feb 11, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. totoro

    totoro Active Member

    Magcargo Poké-Body Magma Armor: Magcargo can't be Asleep or Paralyzed
    Illumise GC Firefly Scent 30 If the Defending Pokémon has any Poké-Bodies, that Pokémon is now Asleep.

    There is a seeming direct conflict here (future Prof Test question maybe??) If Illumise attacks with Firefly Scent, will Magcargo to sleep? We ruled at the prerelease that Magma Armor will prevent the sleep, believing that the sleep "attempt" occurs due to the presence of "a Poké-Body", but the actual sleep is blocked by the specific body in this case. Were we correct?? Add a cessation crystal and I think you may have a future test question!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You were correct.
     

Share This Page