Making Wally better, bending the rules as long as its legal...

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Spectreon, Mar 15, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Well, I havent seen a legit, YOU CANT DO THIS yet, so here goes a funny Wally Combo... works well on some, decent on others....

    Turn 2 Gardi EX, Blaze EX, and EX stage 2 that has a 2-3 energy attack cost....

    Lets use Gardi in the example, since it is what started this idea t Pre-re yesterday...

    Turn 1, lets say you have Active Wynaut, and benched Ralts.... attach a Psy to Wynaut, Smile, likely for Kirlia...

    Turn 2, Retreat/Switch Wynaut for Ralts, evovle to Kirlia, attach Double Rainbow, and Wally to evolve to Gardi EX, now 2nd turn feed back, no Psy shadow required!! And since it places counters, no -10 damage to reduce atttack

    Blaze EX, simular, start with Sparce, Chic on bench (before or after SARs, wouldnt matter), energy, SARs

    turn 2, retreat/switch for Chic, evolve to Combuskin, and attach DRE, then Wally to Blaze EX for turn 2 Blaze Kick, -10...

    there are likely others...
     
  2. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    It says that it counts as evolving that pokemon so maybe evolution laws apply to it. One of the laws says that you cannot evolve a pokemon that has just been evolved. But you are right, nobody has said you cannot.
     
  3. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Well, Wally specifically breaks the Evo rule, we all know htat, I was refering to the fact a Double Ranbow is now on a Pokemon EX

    Another is a Stage 1 or 2 EX, with Sceptile, Kingdra, or Ampharos to move it to EX (wont work on a Basic EX though...)
     
  4. GOROY

    GOROY New Member

    Yea, that is a good combo, but it all depends if DRE CAN STAY on Gardy ex...
     
  5. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Like I said, it is fun to use for now, and as long as it is legal... and makes a few more decks where wally is actually a good card...
     
  6. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

  7. old man

    old man New Member

    We were discussing this last Saturday & down there where you were as well. It would be a good combo, IF it stays allowable. I have a feeling it won't, but until otherwise stated, it will work in any tournaments I run.
     
  8. Dro~

    Dro~ New Member

    You don't even need DRE on kingdra ex to make it work. That's what some people have been doing in their kingdra ex decks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2004
  9. nikePK

    nikePK New Member

    I really really doubt that'll be legal. And if it is legal, i hope it gets changed.
     
  10. Dro~

    Dro~ New Member

    ok, i'm quoting from myself (too lazy to type)

    http://www.pokegym.net/showthread.php?t=4942

    I think it is not a big deal if DRE is kept on a pokemon-ex that just evolved. Only stage 2 pokemon ex can take this advantage and most people use rare candies anyways, except maybe kingdra ex. I guess wally's training will get popular if DRE is allowed to stay attached on a pokemon ex.

    I wonder which pokemon ex can take advantage of this. I can't think of any. If it is attached to amphy ex, it'll only do either 30 or 60 damage, which is bad for an ex. Ampharos can set up fast enough that it doesn't need DRE. So is kingdra ex due to its genetic memory attack. Gardy ex gains nothing from DRE if it's directly attached to it. It may be good on blaziken ex (doing 90 damage though) but I don't have the cards to test.
     
  11. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Well, the main thing is for now it is legal.... I think it only works for Gardi and Blaze for now.... Oh and I suppose Cradilly... doing 20 and auto fuse... but works better ont he first 2...

    Stage 2 EX's I can think of....

    Aggron- needs 3, but colorless... useless, use Boost... but turn 3 can boost for the big one, or have it fully powered with no Metal!!! by turn 4, though does only 40/10, not 50/20....

    Gardi- Perfection here... no damage to be reduced turn 2, and no Psy shadow needed... Psy stormin -10 turn 3, without a Psy shadow....

    Typhlo- Um, forgetting its attacks, could work, think it needs 2 to Burn and prevent retreat??? anyone?? But turn 3 doing what, 90?? thats pretty good...

    Kabutops- OMG, BROKEN HERE!!!! Possible 3 Flips -10 damage turn 20.. so like yeah....

    Drago- 2nd turn 60... 1 Discard.... eh... and it can be done repeatedly, since its Power can move a benched DRE to it... stil not great, but doesnt require 2 energy and 2 discard for a small price, 10 less damage.. not shappy.. doing flip for 110 on turn 3...

    Amphy- this one is wishy/washy, but turn 2 for 60, or 30 + Para... plus Exp Amphy can move it....

    Golem- urg... it only reduces opponents damage recived!! Horrible... you can turn 2 50 and 10 to your bench only... uggg... or turn 4 Double Edge, 110, and 50 to itself still

    Kingdra- It is either greatness, or suckiness, depending how you play it... Wouldnt worry on turn 2 per say... but with only 2 Energy Kingdra can do 80 (Boost + DRE) if I read Kingdra correctly... maybe making AQ Sedra usefull again... but that is doubtfull... still, not that great here..

    Swapert- Well I thought it was bad at first, its first attack gets so screwed by the combo, but then I thought of the second, turn 2 Bench hitting for 30 with Possible eenrgy discard!!! Not shabby...

    Blaze- Blaze Quick for 10 less turn 2, or even better, turn 3 90 to anyone....

    Sceptile- Well, with E trans, it i usefull, but not great... Can do turn 2 30+poison, and turn 4 100.... eh....

    Cradily- Does 20 and fuse turn 2, and turn 3 50 and Poison+Burn... not bad... since Poison/Burn helps with -10 reduction of DRE....

    Ricahu- Ok, its a stage 1 technically, but you can Pichu, Baby evolve, Wally to Raichu, and turn two 110.... heck yeah...

    I think that is about it.. and dont forget all the Stage 2's that can use it when somehow moved to it... Wailord EX a turn sooner, but for 10 less.. sitiational, but generally worth it... IMO, turn 2 Magcargo.. eh....
     
  12. Dro~

    Dro~ New Member

    Some of them are great ini turn 2 but bad in a long run. The energy stays in play and that pokemon won't be able to use their second attacks effectively.
     
  13. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Also note, some of them it wont effect much, since they have ways of ridding themselves of them, like Discarding energy attacks, or Pokemon who can move them as need be... you can always use DRE for retreat cost too later in game....
     
  14. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Well, now with this twist, this combo gets better for Swampy EX... the abilty to turn 2 30 and removal to anyone, or 50 turn 2 to active...
     
  15. GuardianTIM

    GuardianTIM New Member

    Well, if you had a Kirlia, attached Double Rainbow - that'd be fine, as it is evolved, but not an EX pokemon. When you evolve to Gardevoir, it's still an evolved Pokemon, but on the card it doesn't say you can't keep it on if you evolve to an EX pokemon, so I'd say that you could put the energy onto your Kirlia and evolve to Gardy fine.

    Same as if you attach a Grass Cube 01 to Scyther (because it says to attach the cube to one of your Grass pokemon in play) and Evolve to Scizor, there should be no reason why you can't use Grass Cube's attack with your Scizor.
     
  16. Hot Mustid

    Hot Mustid New Member

    at my league, it is ruled that you cant use wallys after u evolve because you cant evolve a pokemon more than once per turn, and this counts as evolving a pokemon, its a basic rule, i dont understand all the commotion (i already tried this and it got overrulled :D )
     
  17. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It's legal. Bring them in a copy of the Compendium so that they are teaching their players correctly.

    Using Wally like that I mean.

    I think it's iffy that DRE will be able to stay attached to EX Pokemon even if attached before they became ex.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2004
  18. Double Rainbow Energy (Special Energy Card)
    ----------------------------------------------
    Double Rainbow Energy can be attatched only to an Evolved Pokemon (excluding Pokemon EX). While in play, Double Rainbow Energy provides every type of Energy but provides 2 energy at a time. (Doesn't count as a basic energy when not in play and has no effect other than providing energy.) Damage done to your opponents Pokemon bt the Pokemon Double Rainbow Energy is attatched to is reduced by 10 (after applying Weakness and Resistance). When the Pokemon Double Rainbow Energy is attatched to is no longer an Evolved Pokemon, discard Double Rainbow Energy.

    By saying it can only be attatched to an Evolved Pokemon (excluding Pokemon EX) , i think it means that you can only have it on a non EX Evolved, and must discard the DRE when you evolve into a stage 2 EX.

    I wish the card would say something about this... but it doesn't.
     
  19. GOROY

    GOROY New Member

    In the ATM forum, one of the master trainers said you can't kep DRE on evolved-ex pokemon, so is that final?
     
  20. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

Share This Page