Mandatory energy discards

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Nov 25, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    I asked this question a while back but it got overlooked amidst the flood of pre-release SW questions. Which is fine, because I have another question to go with it now.

    It is now well-established (hopefully) that if an attack calls for the discard of energy from the Attacking Pokemon, that discard is mandatory.

    Question 1: if such an attack is declared and the player cannot perform the discard, is it considered an illegal action, or does the attack do nothing?

    • If it's considered an illegal action, the action is rolled back and the player may either declare a legal attack or pass.
    • If the attack does nothing, it's still considered an attack and the player's turn ends (just like flipping tails on a flip attack).

    Which is correct?

    Question 2: We have this established order of operations from the rulebook:

    So let's, for the sake of example, use Magmortar LvX's Flame Buster. Magmortar's having a bad day -- he's confused and a Smokescreen effect is in play. Is it discard-flip-flip or flip-flip-discard? I ask because I know of almost no one that would do discard-flip-flip -- and I'm inclined to think that's the right answer (according to Japan, the "discard or this attack does nothing" is implicit, hence it falls at step d).
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Question 1: If you don't have the requirement to do the attack, but you declared it, then you can do an attack you have the requirements for or pass. The turn does not end automatically.

Share This Page