Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings (DELAYED ENTRY)

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chrisbo, Apr 1, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    Sorry for being late with last week's rulings; there were quite a lot to go through. But since there's no meeting this week (April 1, no joke), at least we have something for you all to enjoy:

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:
    |
    |
    |
    * March 25th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == CONDUCTIVITY (Dark Ampharos - Neo: Destiny; Ampharos EX - EX: Dragon)
    Q. Ampharos-EX and Dark Ampharos both have the "Conductivity" Pokemon Power (poke-body) that puts one damage counter on the opponent's pokemon whenever an energy is attached to it from hand. Ampharos-EX's power says that "you cannot place more than one damage counter, even if there is more than one Ampharos-EX in play." Dark Ampharos's says "you cannot ... even if there is more than one Dark Ampharos in play." Can you place 2 damage counters on the pokemon, per energy from hand, if you have a Dark Ampharos and Ampharos-EX in play? Why or why not?
    A. Yes, since they do not restrict each other you could place 2 Damage counters per energy if you had one of each in play. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == POISON PAYBACK (Cacnea - EX:Sandstorm; Cacturne - EX:Sandstorm)
    Q. Is it true that only an attack that "does damage" will trigger Cacturne's Poke-Body which is "damaged by an attack"?
    A. Correct. Cacturne's Poke-Body only reacts to damage, not damage counters. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == PRIMAL AURA (Kabutops - Skyridge)
    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on my Pokémon to go to their evolutions if either Kabutops or Omastar from Skyridge is in play (with the powers/bodies that stop evolution)?
    A. You can use Rare Candy when an evolution-preventing Body or Power is in play (except for the first turn of the game). (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == PRIMAL STARE (Omastar - Skyridge)
    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on my Pokémon to go to their evolutions if either Kabutops or Omastar from Skyridge is in play (with the powers/bodies that stop evolution)?
    A. You can use Rare Candy when an evolution-preventing Body or Power is in play (except for the first turn of the game). (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == SHAPESHIFT (Brock's Ninetales - Gym: Challenge)
    Q. If I use Brock's Ninetales and equip it with a EX, and if that pokemon is knocked out how many prizes does my opponent draw?
    A. If it's knocked out while being treated as an "EX" Pokemon, your opponent would draw 2 Prizes. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == WATER CYCLONE (Kingdra - Aquapolis)
    Q. Can I move a Double Rainbow Energy using Kingdra onto my bench from my active?
    A. Yes, it provides Water energy, so it can be moved. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == WONDER GUARD (Shedinja - EX: Dragon)
    Q. If I use Archie or Maxie to get a stage 2 pokemon on my bench, can it hurt Shedinja?
    A. Yes, it is being treated as a Basic. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == AGILITY (Raichu - Base Set, Rapidash - Jungle, many others)
    Q. If I flipped heads on Seadra's Agility attack, would that prevent Cradily's Spiral Drain from removing damage counters?
    A. Agility only prevents damage and effects done to Seadra, not other effects that may extend to other Pokémon. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == BURN UP (Arcanine - EX:Sandstorm)
    Q. If Sandstorm Arcanine has a Multi energy/Rainbow energy card and two other non fire energy cards attached and uses its Burn Up attack and flips tails, would it have to discard the Multi/Rainbow energy Card?
    A. Yes. They are considered Fire Energy cards since they provide Fire Energy. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == DAMAGE CURSE (Shedinja - EX: Dragon)
    Q. Damage Curse says, "Put 1 damage counter, plus 1 more damage counter for each damage counter on Shedinja, on the Defending Pokemon". Everyone has been playing the card the following way: you have 2 damage counters on Shedinja, so you would place a total of 3 damage counters on the Defending Pokemon. But I think you could also read it as "place 1 damage counter plus 1 more damage counter for EACH damage counter on Shedinja". I took this as possibly meaning you would place 2 for each one.... so you would place a total of 4. But I think the commas will help determine this. Which way is the correct way?
    A. The first way is correct. If it had meant 2 per counter, it would have said 2 per counter. You place 1 counter, then one additional counter per counter on Shedinja, for a total of 3 counters. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == ENERGY FLIP (Suicune EX - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    Q. Can I use Suicune EX's first attack to move a Double Rainbow Energy to either a Basic Pokemon, or an EX Pokémon?
    A. It cannot move Double Rainbow Energy to a Basic Pokémon, or Pokémon-ex, as neither meet the requirements. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == FEINT ATTACK (Murkrow - Neo:Genesis, Umbreon - Neo: Discovery, Houndour - Aquapolis, Cacturne - EX:Sandstorm; Shiftry - EX:Sandstorm)
    Q. Does Double Rainbow Energy reduce Cacturne's Feint Attack?
    A. Yes. Feint Attack refers to ignoring effects on the opponent's Pokémon, not yours. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == STRIKE AND RUN (Dunsparce - EX:Sandstorm)
    Q. Can I use Dunsparce's Strike and Run and get zero Pokémon, even though I have room on my Bench, and Basic Pokémon left in my deck?
    A. Yes. Dunsparce states "up to" which includes zero. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == VOLCANIC ASH (Blaziken EX - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    Q. With Double Rainbow Energy on Blaziken-EX: if you discard Double Rainbow Energy for the 2 {F} requirement, does it reduce the damage done by the Volcanic Ash attack or not?
    A. Sorry, but you cannot have a Double Rainbow Energy on a Blaziken-EX; it would have been discarded when it evolved. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == TRAINERS IN GENERAL
    Q. Can you place a Grass Cube on Scyther, evolve it to Scizor, and then have Scizor use the attack from that TM?
    A. Yes. You met the conditions needed to attach the TM. It is only checked when attaching. [ED. NOTE: This would apply to all type Cubes, not just "Grass Cube".] (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == ARCHIE / MAXIE (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    Q. If I use "Maxie" to put TM's Lairon on the bench, can I evolve it into TM's Aggron in the same turn?
    A. Not in a regular evolution - Lairon just came into play. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
    Q. If I use Archie or Maxie to get a stage 2 pokemon on my bench, can it hurt Shedinja?
    A. Yes, it is being treated as a Basic. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == DUAL BALL (Aquapolis; EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    Q. Can we use the new Dual Ball [TM/TA] to get Baby Pokemon?
    A. Yes you can; the new Dual Ball doesn't say you cannot. The old one had text restricting getting Baby Pokemon, the new TM/TA one does not. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == POKEMON REVERSAL (Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)
    Q. Can you check the ruling for Pokemon Reversal again? After speaking to my cousin who plays in Japan, he said that Pokemon Reversal over there is played the way it was written in Expedition. Shouldn't it be more like a Gust of Wind (with a flip) than half a Warp Point?
    A. Play it as written in Ruby/Sapphire version until further notice. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)
    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on my Pokémon to go to their evolutions if either Kabutops or Omastar from Skyridge is in play (with the powers/bodies that stop evolution)?
    A. You can use Rare Candy when an evolution-preventing Body or Power is in play (except for the first turn of the game). (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == STRENGTH CHARM (Expedition; EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    Q. If I attach a Strength Charm, then use Kirlia's Life Drain, can I one-hit-KO the Defending Pokemon?
    A. No. Kirlia's Life Drain doesn't strictly do damage [it "places damage counters"] - Strength Charm only affects things that do damage. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
    Q. Does Strength Charm affect self damage, like Wobbuffet's flip over attack?
    A. Yes - it affects damage done by the Attacking Pokémon. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == DOUBLE RAINBOW ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    Q. If I have a Double Rainbow Energy attached to my Kirlia and then I evolve it into Gardevoir-EX, do I have to discard the DRE or does it get to stay?
    A. If the Double Rainbow Energy was already attached to a non-EX-Pokemon, then you have to remove it when the Pokemon evolves into an EX-Pokemon. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
    Q. Does Double Rainbow Energy still take 10 damage off of bench damaging attacks?
    A. Yes, DRE can reduce damage done to the Bench. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == DECKS
    Q. Is it required to have a Basic Pokémon in your deck? For example, could I make a deck with just the fossils and no other Basic Pokémon in it?
    A. You could. However, in a sanctioned event the opponent and judges would probably be pretty particular about the game getting started in a timely fashion. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == SHUFFLING
    Q. I play an Oracle, and search for two cards. While I am searching, I find that I have a HUGE energy pocket coming up. So I break it up and add some trainers in between them. I then shuffle and put 2 cards on top. Is that legal?
    A. As long as you shuffle sufficiently afterwards. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page