Mewtwo & Mew GX ability vs Fossil Box

Discussion in 'Judges' Chambers' started by Freemourne, Mar 8, 2020.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Freemourne

    Freemourne New Member

    Hello! I would to ask about this certain match up on my casuals yesterday and we were discussing about the rulings of Aerodactyl Gx’s ability that cost more energy on attacks, Carracosta’s Ability vs Stealthy hood and Declaration of invalid attacks.


    1st Do Aerodactyl’s Primal Wind affects Mewtwo and Mew’s Perfection ability

    2nd Do Carracosta’s Ancient Custom ability affects stealthy hood?

    3rd My MewMew is equip with stealthy hood, me thinking it’s unaffected by Primal Wind ability, I declared an attack using Perfection ability copying Naganadel GX’s Venom Shot following with 4 energy which is the original cost but my opponent point out that my attack is invalid because Ancient Custom is present in play which I’m not aware until he pointed it out, we called our judge asking if i can replay my action because my attack is invalid given the situation, then the judge told us since it’s an invalid attack, It’s my opponent’s decision whether he will let me replay my action or not which of course my opponent didn’t give me the opportunity to replay my action and my turn ended.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2020
  2. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Primal Wind "As long as this Pokémon is your Active Pokémon, your opponent's Basic Pokémon's attacks cost Colorless more."
    Perfection "This Pokémon can use the attacks of any Pokémon-GX or Pokémon-EX on your Bench or in your discard pile. (You still need the necessary Energy to use each attack.)"
    Is Mewtwo & Mew GX a Basic? Yes
    Is Mewtow & Mew GX attacking? - Yes 1 extra Colorless is needed​

    Ancient Custom "Pokémon Tool cards attached to your opponent's Pokémon have no effect."
    I would have to rule by which entered Play first. If Carracosta was in Play and their opponent attached Stealthy Hood, then i would say Ancient Custom shuts it down. Ancient Custom would prevent "Remove any such existing effects." from triggering.
    If Stealthy Hood was in Play and Carracosta was Benched by their opponent, i would say Stealthy Hood prevents Ancient Custom from affecting the Pokemon it is attached to.
    Good question - you should post it in our "Ask the Masters" forum for an official rule​

    The official answer to your 3rd would depend upon the official answer to # 1 & 2.
    My answer depends upon the timing to # 1

    Notation: There are rules where 'conflicting' Abilities occur at the same time, where the Active Player decides their invocation. So an answer to Ancient Custom vs Stealthy Hood could be "Active Player chooses which activates first"
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2020
  3. Freemourne

    Freemourne New Member

    Thank you for answering and yes I’ll also post this to the “Ask the masters” section for official ruling in this situation.

    but thank you at least I have already an idea when it comes to this. me and my co-players we’re discussing the match and made a joke like what is this yugioh?
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2020

Share This Page