New Rules

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Adv1sor, Mar 5, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

    I'm sure that this doesn't mean that you could retreat a sleeping pokemon, right?


    This is a big change. You may not have an evolved pokemon on your first turn but your opponent may be facing an evolved pokemon on his or her first attack.


    Sounds like fun :)

    My sincere thanks to Team Compendium for getting these rules up prior to this weekend's prereleases!
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2004
  2. GOROY

    GOROY New Member

    Yes, these rulings will help, but what about Aqua's Manectric, and possibly Magma's Claydol, do we know if the second pokemon getting the energy has to be an aqua/magma pokemon?
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2004
  3. JasonthePwnda

    JasonthePwnda New Member

    1). No, the sealeo states that on the next turn, the defending pokemon will be asleep. (fakecard.com)
    2). Some trainer card allows you to play stage 1s/stage 2s as basic pokemon, at least the TA/TM ones. i forgot what it was though. probably more devastating.
     
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Aqua Trance doesn't put the Defending Pokemon to sleep until after that Pokemon's next turn. In other words, not until just before your next turn. That gives you a 50/50 chance of it failing the sleep check and still being asleep for your next attack (which will get a bonus if the defending Pokemon is Asleep!). However, it also gives them time to retreat or Switch out.
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    As for rulings on other cards, we only got to ask about cards from the FAQ.
     
  6. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    So would a 'Full Heal' card remove the pending sleep effect or would the pokemon still fall asleep after the end of the opponents turn.

    In detail..

    1) You attack me with AQUA TRANCE.
    2) My turn but I'm not asleep yet...
    3) I play Full Heal
    4) My turn ends

    So have I managed to clear the pending sleep effect?
     
  7. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    don't think so, FH only gets rid of status that is on the Pokemon at the time it is played.
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Darn, we shoulda thought to ask that one, though.
    I'd say no, for the reason bullados gives.
     
  9. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    I agree with Bullados too PokePop :)

    a further wrinkle..

    1) I am already asleep
    2) I am attacked by AQUA TRANCE and now its my turn...
    3) In between turns I flip tails so I start my turn asleep.
    4) I end my turn asleep :(

    The effect from AQUA TRANCE resolves. So do I have to flip twice to wake up or just the once?

    [oops think I may have already given away my thoughts in how I've set out the sequence ]
     
  10. duanojo

    duanojo New Member

    I don't think so NoPoke. Generally, unless the card says otherwise like Dark Gengar, you can't be double asleep or double poisoned, etc. Just flip once.
     
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yeah, that's just a replacement Special Condition, like Poisoning something that is already Poisoned.
    But, worth getting a ruling on for the book.
     
  12. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    I had in mind that the TRANCE effect resolves immediately my turn ends so I'm asleep. The fact that I was already asleep has no effect. In between turn stuff like flipping to wake up happens after all effects that are waiting have resolved.

    In other words the AQUA TRANCE effect does not wait to put me back to sleep if I flip heads and wake up.
     
  13. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yeah, you flip after the Trance puts you to sleep, so you don't lose your chance to wake up.
     

Share This Page