Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Newbie Dad Nees a Clue - Help!

jazee

Okay, I'm trying to help my kids build a Pokemon Card collection but I also want them to get involved in a League so they/we need to learn how to build a deck. One kid 6-1/2 the other is 8. I haven't read the rule book but have a basic understanding of the game, very basic, mostly from playing Pokemon XD on the Wii (GC version). I've seen the kids play the card game casually but I get the feeling they don't have a clue about all the rules.

So I went and bought (with the kids money on their direction), a bunch of $2-$20 cards, mostly 'Ex' cards off E-bay. They have a few hundred cards, but they seem to really want these Ex and Lv.X. This of course before I really did much home work. Duh.

But being an analyst, I at least thought, there must be some tools out there to figure out which cards are best. So I discovered pokepedia.net and through that I discoverd poke-post.com. The first thing I realized is that some of the cards they wanted couldn't be used in official game play 'Not playable in modified format' and that the World Championship (WC) cards couldn't be used in tournaments either. They were just re-releases of cards that were used to win the WC and their original non-WC versions are quite valuable. I'm assuming if you want to get seriously into playing (and/or collecting) these cards that are not playable in modified format should be avoided, prefereing the similar card this is playable?