Nidorino SW

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Oct 28, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    A question from one of our pre-releases:

    Is the effect on Nidorino? (Thus it would apply even if Spirited Drill caused a KO, and Nidorino would be able to do +20 to the new Defending Pokemon.)

    (I ruled yes, based on the before/after W/R metarule -- a damage modification effect that is applied before W/R lies on the Pokemon causing the damage, Nidorino in this case -- hence it applies regardless of the KO. I had to think for a bit on this one because this ruling decided the game in question.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2007
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    This effect is on Nidorino (the 'before applying Weakness and Resistance' is the telltale sign).

    If the effect stated 'after applying' it would be on the Defending Pokemon instead of Nidorino.
     

Share This Page