Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Old decks

brandonjmatt

I started playing pokemon about when EX Dragon set came out and i never really saw any of the old decks and i've herd of some of them like Murkrow/Sneasel/Slowking or the Mr.Mime/Alakazam or Feraligator but if you could maybe post a list and explain the deck just so I can understand some of the older decks more if you would thanks(any old list will do, even rogues!)

The original three archetypes were as follows.

Haymaker - Fast, aggressive deck which puts extreme pressure on its opponent's Pokémon through means of Energy Removal and Super Energy Removal. With this energy denial, it uses Hitmonchan, Electabuzz, and Scyther to attack. Ample amounts of card drawing such as Bill and Professor Oak keep card advantage. The deck was named due to the originally planned name of Hitmonchan's three energy attack, which was Haymaker (it later became Special Punch).

Rain Dance - Aggressive combo deck which would use Pokémon Breeder to fuel out Blastoise as fast as possible, and then attack either with it, or with another suitably large Water Pokémon. Oak was used to refill your hand with Water Energy to Rain Dance onto things. The deck's name comes from Blastoise's Pokémon Power, which let you play infinite Water Energy per turn.

Damage Swap - This is the Alakazam/Mr. Mime lock you mentioned. It would basically win by stall, using Mr. Mime to soak up any attack, since it couldn't ever take more than 20 damage at a time (the only thing that could OHK it was Nidoking's Toxic), and high HP Pokémon like Chansey to fill with damage. Pokémon Center and Scoop Up could then remove all the damage at once. Deck name comes from Alakazam's Pokémon Power.