Old Trainers allowed?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by PokeMasterFlabface, Feb 1, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. PokeMasterFlabface

    PokeMasterFlabface <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    Are old trainers allowed in Modified, if they made an re-print in a new set?

    For example: Say I have 2 Expedition Power Charges, and I have 1 old set Power Charge. Am I able to use the old Energy Charge in a Modified deck because it is the same thing?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2004
  2. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    Yes, but if there is a wording change between the two, the newer version takes precedence. Please note, however, that the example you cited is not valid, as the two cards in question have different names and are thus different cards.
     
  3. PokeMasterFlabface

    PokeMasterFlabface <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    Yeah just fixed it right now, just noticed that they had different names. :)
     
  4. Dek

    Dek New Member

    I believe we have mentioned this before, but i'll let ya know

    Any trainers that were re-released in any of the legal sets is allowed

    For example, The Base Set version of Switch is allowed because Expedition and EX: Ruby & Saphire both have the same card.

    As for your example, the "old" version of Power Charge is called Energy Charge. In this type of story, Energy Charge is not allowed because, although it has the same effect that Power Charge has, Energy Charge is a different name.
     
  5. Fantasy Fox

    Fantasy Fox New Member

    I asked that question before, and the answer is no.

    Energy Charge and Power Charge are 2 different cards because of their names. What a waste for a rare card(Energy Charge).
     

Share This Page