Question about DRE

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by bullados, Mar 11, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    Double Rainbow reads:

    Double Rainbow Energy can be atttached only to an Evolved Pokemon (excluding Pokemon-ex). While in play, Double Rainbow Energyprovides every type of Energy but provides 2 Enerrgy at a time. (Doesn't count as a basic Energy when not in play and has no effect other than providing Energy). Damage done to your opponent's Pokemon by the Pokemon Double Rainbow Energy is attached to is reduced by 10 (after applying Weakness and Resistance). When the Pokemon that Double Rainbow Energy is attached to is no longer an Evolved Pokemon, discard Double Rainbow Energy

    Question:

    What happens if, say, you have it attached to a Kirlia and you evolve that Kirlia into a Gardevoir ex? According to the text, nothing is to be done. Is this the correct ruling?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    We'll be asking that at this weeks rules meeting.
    My feeling is that, based on how the card is worded, it should stay attached.
    However, you never know what we may get told based on "intent" and original wording.
     
  3. NoPoke

    NoPoke Active Member

    It does seem like its time to construct an ORACLE with revised wording for many cards.

    For example Rare Candy could be worded more like Breeder but retaining the ability to play the basic followed by the stage 1.
     
  4. Ice'Cold

    Ice'Cold Active Member

    I have no doubt that based on the wording it would stay attached. I think its like that so if you say, use a devolution power, or something to that effect, it would get discarded.
     
  5. NoPoke

    NoPoke Active Member

    the play as written guideline went out the window ages and ages ago.
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    But Nopoke, until we get direction from PUI to play it in a specific way, play as written is the only choice.
     
  7. SteveP

    SteveP Active Member

    IMO, I think the translation got botched. Here's the Japanese version:

    So, if PUI goes back to Japan on this one, you know what the answer will be. But, like the Lanette question, I go with what the English card says until I hear otherwise.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2004
  8. NoPoke

    NoPoke Active Member

    maybe I wasn't clear in my quip at 'play as written': In the past if a card was written a particular way THAT WAS how it would be rulled. This is no longer the case. The floor rules suggest that we can expect a mistranslation to be changed even if the difference does not significantly affect playability.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2004
  9. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, this has been referred up the line, so we will see.
     
  10. NoPoke

    NoPoke Active Member

    while we are on DRE
    Isn't the process of moving an energy from one pokemon to another different to 'attaching'? In which case the DRE can be moved to another pokemon but if the new pokemon is a basic then DRE falls off and is discarded?

    Also I thought the following was in the compendium but I can't find it so I'll ask it here and keep all the DRE stuff together.

    If you are required to discard energy in order to do an attack is the -10 penalty from DRE still applied?
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2004
  11. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    Well, no exact conpenduim Q./A., but according to attacks that disarded Dark energy, I thought you got the added Damage, even though the Dark energy was discarded, or simular, if you attack an opponent and remove a Metal energy, it still reduces attack before being discarded....

    So I would assume (snicker....) that even if you discard DRE with an attack, the -10 stays in effect...
     
  12. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    DRE includes this text:
    When the Pokemon Double Rainbow Energy is attached to is not longer an Evolved Pokemon, discard Double Rainbow Energy.

    If it is an effect of the attack, the damage calculation happens first. If it a requirement ("discard IN ORDER TO USE THIS ATTACK"), that would come before the damage calculation.
    Almost every energy discard now is an effect. The don't use the "in order to" text anymore. It would still be a concern in Unlimited, though.
     
  13. NoPoke

    NoPoke Active Member

    Thanks Pop I missed the second usage of attached on the card that you refered to. Is there a realy old farts club for those of us with failing erm you know mem something or other....
     
  14. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yeah. BJJ and I are the founding members of Team Old Fart. It was established in 1999, if I recall....
    Either that or it was during the Nixon Administration.
     
  15. GymLeaderPhil

    GymLeaderPhil New Member

    OOOH, do you have tee shirts that you wear at conventions? I think I saw you before! :p
    -Phil
     

Share This Page