Question about Wait...

Discussion in 'Trading Figure Game' started by spoinkmaster, Oct 20, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. spoinkmaster

    spoinkmaster New Member

    I was playing today and an argument about Wait came up.

    My opponent had Ho-Oh on their goal, I attacked with Lugia on my turn. I got miss, they got Tornado Spin, so we both returned to our benches. Now, since the rulebook states I have wait on the next player's turn, would I have Wait on their turn then be able to move on my turn? Or would wait kick in on my turn?

  2. Burninating_Torchic

    Burninating_Torchic New Member

    Wait only means your turn; you can't have wait on your opponent's turn.
  3. Jran Sakarra

    Jran Sakarra Active Member

    He beat me too it.
    What je said..
  4. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="

    Basically, Wait lasts one turn. Either yours, or your opponent's. In that scenario (you attacked) the Wait would go away before your next turn, so it essentially wouldn't affect you.
  5. Wrong wait is only for your turns
  6. sdp

    sdp New Member

    Nope, Luxatos is correct "Wait" lasts a turn, not your turn.
  7. Burninating_Torchic

    Burninating_Torchic New Member

    Having Wait on your opponent's turn is redundant and useless.
    I think we need an official ruling on this.
  8. sdp

    sdp New Member

    Try the rulebook.
  9. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    So if you attack a pokemon on your turn and it says it has wait, by the time your next turn comes around, the wait is gone? I know of some pokemon that have attacks that say they have wait.
  10. Archaic

    Archaic New Member

    I'm fairly sure that rule on page 4 of the rulebook is a miss-print (assuming you've got the same rulebook), and that's how I've always run it in demo's. It should read the player's next turn, not the next player's turn. There's clear intent from the designers there. Why give both an attacker and defender wait from some figures, if the attacker essentially gets no disadvantage from it?
  11. oldman

    oldman New Member

    There are negative spins for many Pokemon, if that active player is attacking with the figure then there is no draw back, but if your defending Pokemon has a wait on its dial then that is a Big negative because it is not doing anything on your upcoming active turn. So there is a big negative to have wait on the dial. The failing in the rule book is distort the difference between an attack, which only the active Pokemon is doing, and a spin which bot attacking and defending Pokemon are doing. The rule book should say: '"Some spins have "Wait. If a Poemon is affected by Wait, that Pokemon can't move or attack during the next player's turn."
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2007
  12. Archaic

    Archaic New Member

    Which brings about the question...why specify "move or attack" if the player can do neither.
  13. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    If someone were to ask this in the ATM forum, I'm sure Jimmer would respond there.
  14. Burninating_Torchic

    Burninating_Torchic New Member

    Jimmer has responded on official rulings here in this forum before, too...

    Anyways, I think some people talked about this, but proof for why I think wait only applies to your turns - if you attack with Turtwig and get Withdraw, it has wait. What would be the point if that wait went away after your opponent's turn?
  15. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="


    As for Turtwig... if your opponent attacks Turtwig, and it does Withdraw, then on YOUR turn you can't move it or attack with it. When you say there's no point of having that text, you forget that you have the possibility of spinning the figure on either player's turn.
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2007
  16. Archaic

    Archaic New Member

    ...holy crap. That ruling is going to impact on the development of strategy. Oo;
  17. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    Wait is only for the next player's turn. It's not a misprint in the rulebook.

    If your Pokemon gets Wait from a battle on your turn, it's not going to have an will wear off during your opponent's turn. (It can still battle back if it's attacked on the opponent's turn.)

Share This Page