Question from a newb.

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by TrainerSpencer, Aug 9, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. TrainerSpencer

    TrainerSpencer New Member

    If a card is reprinted can you use the non reprinted version of that card in your deck? For example Steve's Advice can I play my Steve's Advice from a cycled out set or do I have to get a new Steve's from Power Keepers?
  2. Regis_Neo

    Regis_Neo Moderator

    You can use old cards if they're reprinted so long as the text isn't radically different. For example, your Steven's Advice scenario would be fine, but if you use something as ancient as Plus Power from Base set, you might need a copy of a current one or the official scan to use it.
  3. TrainerSpencer

    TrainerSpencer New Member

    thanks a bunch...and i thought plus power looked familiar lols
  4. DarkJake

    DarkJake New Member

    HL Steven's Advice cannot be played without a refrenece, either
  5. Regis_Neo

    Regis_Neo Moderator

    Really? I've only ever got pegged for using Base set Plus Power, never had a problem with the Steven's where I attend. I guess it can vary slightly from place to place too.
  6. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    Some PTOs have a card-dex on them and can sometimes makes up for a lack of reference. But make sure to check with the PTO before you go to any tournament to see if that is okay with them.
  7. The Gorn

    The Gorn Active Member

    The only difference is that some PTOs are doing a crappy job enforcing the rules.

    HL Steven's Advice is not allowed without a reference.
  8. DarkJake

    DarkJake New Member

    Pfft, it's a rule enforced by PUI themselves, it's not a location's decision to its validity, perhaps some don't enforce it as much as needed but location has nothing to do with that otherwise.
  9. P_A

    P_A Active Member

    We enforced it at the Canadian Nationals. Hopefully there will be at least the same amount of effort elsewhere.
  10. Grandielle

    Grandielle New Member

    Mind if I tag in, For example I have a Darkness Energy from Neo1 can I slot it into my deck because there was darkness energy being reprinted in newer sets(Emerald?).Possible?
  11. The Gorn

    The Gorn Active Member

    When Darkness Energy was reprinted (starting with Ruby/Sapphire) it had major text change - apply the additional damage BEFORE applying weakness/resistance, rather than AFTER.

    To use the Neo1 card, you need to have a "translation."
  12. DarkJake

    DarkJake New Member

    Not to mention Neo Genesis Darkness Energy still believes non-Dark/Dark type Pokemon can use it.
  13. Noah121

    Noah121 Active Member

    In general, if in doubt, print out the page of the Card Dex that refers to the newest version of a card if you want to use an older version.
  14. Phazon Elite

    Phazon Elite New Member

    How I miss those days. </3
  15. Ikari

    Ikari New Member

    Sorry for reviving a week-dead post, but i got the same question...

    Can i use the OLD Base Set Pluspower in a tourney if i got at least 1 NEW Pluspower for reference? :eek:

    I got a pile of Old Pluspower from Base... recycling them can be a good idea :biggrin:

    Cheers! :smile:
  16. PSYCO829

    PSYCO829 New Member

    yes, you can
  17. Ikari

    Ikari New Member

    Thanks for answering, but i got another question :confused:

    Night Mainteinance (DP2) = Night Garbage Run (Ummm Rocket?). Can i use this in replace (Keeping a NM as reference) i think its the same effect, but not the same card name. :confused:

    Cheers! :smile:
  18. votalesin

    votalesin New Member

    It is the same effect actually. Its worded differently and called something else, so sadly you cannot use it.

    Nightly Garbage Run reads: Choose up to 3 Basic Pokemon cards, Evolution cards, and/or basic Energy cards from your discard pile. Show them to your opponent and shuffle them into your deck. (Taken from pokepedia)

    Night Maintenance reads: Search your discard pile for 3 in any combination of Pokemon and Basic Energy cards, show them to your opponent, and shuffle them into your deck. (Taken from pokebeach translation)

    Same effect, but it is unfortunately a different card. However, you can use as a proxy in non-tournaments quite nicely, since it does the same thing.
  19. Ardoptres

    Ardoptres New Member

    What votalesin said.

Share This Page