Random Questions...

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by burnpsy, Apr 30, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    can plus power be used to make a move that does no damage do 10 damage?

    ...I can't remember the other questions :frown:, I'll add them when I do...

    EDIT: I remember one now, Smeargle's Trace on a move like Infernape's Flare Blitz, if there aren't any fire eneries attached, do I simply do 90 damage (note how the move doesn't specify that the attack won't work if you can't discard...)?

    EDIT2: another one I use a move like Smokescreen, then they evolve the pokemon I used it on, does it stop affecting them since, for example, Gabite is now a Garchomp and Gabite was the one who Smokescreen affected?

    EDIT3: a completely unrelated question, how would someone test their deck if they couldn't go to a league for some reason...

    EDIT4: do gastrodon east sea and gastrodon west sea count as the same pokemon?
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2008
  2. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Define no damage.

    No base damage (as in using Raichu MT's Electromagnetic Induction)? No. You have to be dealing damage to add to it.
    No final damage (as in you use Voltorb SW, use its first attack for 20 damage, but attack a pokemon with -20 resistance to lightning, resulting in 0 final damage), then yes. If you deal damage before weakness and resistance, then you'd add to it.
     
  3. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    ...I meant no base damage...
     
  4. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Must do damage in order to increase it. Keen Eye would not do 10 damage if a Plus Power were attached to Furret.
     
  5. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    new question (i remembered one...)
     
  6. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Answer for Edit1: You must satisfy the effect of the card. IIRC, there's been a metaruling that says "If an attack requires a card to be discarded, and that card can't be discarded ('cause it doesn't exist), then the attack automatically fails". ...The problem is, I only see these rulings in "Ask the Masters" questions, not the Compendium.

    Answer for Edit2: Yes, Smokescreen's effect goes away. All effects placed onto the defending pokemon are removed whenever that pokemon evolves, retreats, or levels up. This one IS in the Compendium, worded as "Benching a Pokemon removes all Special Conditions on that Pokemon including Poisoned and Burned, and all Attack effects on that Pokemon that do not place a Marker (such as Imprison). (Apr 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)"
     
  7. Ignatious

    Ignatious New Member

    As for EDIT1, I don't see wh ythe attack would fail, discarding is not a 'must' for the attack to work. It just says discard all, and if all = 0, then no where on the card does it say you 'must' discard fire to make the attack work.

    It's like PK Baleken's Fire Stream. Hitting your opponents bench is a must, if they have bench, but in no way does the attack fail to work because they do not have bench to hit.
     
  8. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    thanks =D
     
  9. Ignatious

    Ignatious New Member

    Don't take my word for this one just yet, I'm not entirely sure.
     
  10. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Regarding the "Must Discard for those attacks" rulings...
    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=57266&highlight=infernape+flare+blitz
    It IS a common ruling. The reasoning behind it is a metarule which... probably SHOULD be in the compendium on its own to save confusion, but whatever.

    Well. It SORT OF is in the Compendium. If you look really hard...
    That help?
     
  11. Ignatious

    Ignatious New Member

    These are two different questions though, discarding X energy, puts a number of energy that you NEED to discard, while Infernape has no set amount, just "all fire energy".
     
  12. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    exactly what I thought...

    NEW QUESTION!!!
     
  13. skarmory777

    skarmory777 New Member

    redshark or some other program that uses probability along with the cards you enter to stage a "battle" but I wouldn't rely heavily on it as they're typically accurate only to a point. For instance shuffling is a big thing. The way your shuffle your deck and the size of the sleeves and the texture on the back all play a part.
     
  14. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    kthx...

    NEW QUESTION (again...)
     
  15. Blaziken 1111

    Blaziken 1111 Active Member

    No you can run 4 of each. Same with the lower evolutions and also the burmy wormadam.
     
  16. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

  17. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    But the Energy discard ruling IS in the Compendium LvX and it IS in the Meta Rulings section, right where it belongs:

    http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-lvx.html#c2
    Fourth one down:

    This is further laid out in the Pokemon Attacks, "*Attacks in General" section.
    http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-lvx.html#c5

     
  18. burnpsy

    burnpsy New Member

    ok...
     

Share This Page