Re: Scramble and Magmortar Lv.X

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by poke_master2008, Jun 7, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. poke_master2008

    poke_master2008 New Member

    I understand it was errata'd so that it reads "Discard 2 :fire: energy cards" and not "Discard 2 :fire: energy" but why would you be able to discard a scramble and a basic :fire: energy card?

    I understand scramble (when activated) counts as 3 of any type of energy but it doesnt make them ENERGY CARDS just energy. Yet magmortar Lv.X says to discard 2 :fire: ENERGY CARDS but if you have a :fire: Energy card and a scramble energy on it how would you be able to discard the neccesary energy needed to discard.

    You would only have 1 :fire: ENERGY CARD and a scramble that counts as 3 :fire: ENERGY.



    Please clear up any confusion that i might have. Thanks!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Scramble is an energy card.
    It provides Fire (along with every other color)
    Therefore it is a Fire Energy card.
    What it is not is a Basic Fire Energy card.
    But it is a Fire Energy card. Magmortar Lv X's attack does not specify that the discard has to be basic Fire energy. Some attacks do specify that.

    This is a game ruling since the days of the Team Rocket set in 1999-2000 when Rainbow Energy was released.
    It is not a ruling that was made recently.

    Please take some time and look through the Compendium Level X found here: http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-lvx.html

    It will be well worth your time.
     

Share This Page