ReWording of the Ariados question!

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by mca3, Jun 13, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. mca3

    mca3 New Member

    Okay, I have a Electrode active and Ariados on the bench. Electorde has Free Retreat or NO cost. Ariados MT's Sticky says:Each Pokemon in play (excluding any Ariados) pays an additional 1 to retreat. (Poke-BODY)

    So if Electrode has NO retreat cost, will it STILL stay Free, when I retreat him???
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No, Electrode would have to pay one energy to retreat. It's retreat cost just happens to be zero. It is not "set" at zero by an effect.

    Lasios ex has a Body that sets retreat costs to zero:
    [​IMG]

    That would not be changed by Ariados' Sticky.

    On the other hand, Phoebe's Stadium only subtracts two from the retreat cost. It does not "set" it to zero. Sticky would add to a Psychic Pokemon's retreat cost while Phoebe's would subtract two and the result would be whatever the result was. Just adding and subtracting.

    See the difference?
     

Share This Page