Silver Wind Effect?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Jran Sakarra, Jan 22, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Jran Sakarra

    Jran Sakarra Active Member

    The Secret Wonders Mothim has a attack called Silver wind that when used During your next turn, if an attack does damage to the Defending Pokemon (after applying Weakness and Resistance), that attack dies 40 more damage.(Straight form the card.)
    Would the effect apply to another Pokemon if I retreat (Free retreat cost) on the next turn to bring out another and attack.

    Say:
    Mothim uses Silver Wind.
    After on my next turn I retreat (Free retreat cost)and bring out Raticate (SW) and use Gnaw off. (If Heads would it do 110 or 70?
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    The words "after Weakness and Resistance" are the key. If an effect is applied after Weakness and Resistance it is on the Pokemon being attacked, and that Pokemon in this case is your opponent's Pokemon. That is where the effect of Silver Wind resides, so it does not matter what you do with your Pokemon. In your example you would do 110 unless your opponent was able to clear the effect from the Pokemon you attacked last turn (Evolving, Devolving, Benching, etc.).

    BDS

    edited for typo -Pop
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2008

Share This Page