::SPOILERS:: Maxie and Archie Energy??? Tm/TA

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by WeileMom, Mar 5, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. WeileMom

    WeileMom New Member

    I have a question, based on the recent rulings and the alleged list of cards. I know some people were thinking that you wouldn't be able to use certain cards in the prerelease tournaments, due to the fact that their basic pokemon weren't in the set.
    However after reading the following I'm wondering. If I'm reading this right then we could use a Maxie or Archie energy and put a Sceptile EX on the field without a Treeko?? Or does it not work for EX's? Or am I just misunderstanding completely. This would be HUGE if you could put a Stage 2 out without the basic or Stage 1 under it.!

    == ARCHIE / MAXIE (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Can I play "Archie" or "Maxie" on my first turn?
    A. It isn't considered evolving, so sure. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. What happens if I play a Stage 1 Pokémon using Archie or Maxie -
    does it receive 1 damage counter?
    A. If you use it to find a Basic or Stage 1 Pokémon, that Pokémon goes
    to the Bench [and does not receive any damage counters]. If it’s a
    Stage 2 Pokémon, it takes 2 damage counters. Regardless of what Evolution
    stage the Pokémon is in, it’s treated as a Basic Pokémon. (This does not
    remove any Pokémon-ex rules that may have already been a part of the
    Pokémon.) (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q7)
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2004
  2. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Well Archie only gets a Pokémon with "Aqua" in its name and Maxie gets one with "Magma" in its name (according to fakecard.com's spoilers)...
  3. Pidgeotto Trainer

    Pidgeotto Trainer New Member

    I haven't seen any english cards but according to Nick15's spoilers I believe that Maxie and Archie were specific to Aqua and Magma pokemon. Can't remember which one goes to which though.

Share This Page