Stealthy Hood vs Psychic Zone

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Professor Sycamore, Sep 4, 2019.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Professor Sycamore

    Professor Sycamore Active Member

    Jirachi GX’s Psychic Zone Ability:
    Don’t apply [P] Weakness when Pokémon (both yours and your opponent’s) take damage from attacks.

    Pokémon Tool Stealthy Hood:
    Prevent all effects of your opponent’s Abilities done to the Pokémon this card is attached to. Remove any such existing effects.

    Here’s my question. Let’s say my active Pokémon, who is weak to psychic, has a Stealthy Hood attached. My opponent has a Jirachi GX on their bench. What happens when a Psychic Pokémon attacks my active with Stealthy Hood attached? Does Weakness apply?
     
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    The effect of Psychic Zone is on the Pokemon and Stealthy Hood removes such effects, but the following ruling means Stealthy Hood can't remove the Psychic Zone Ability:
    The term “any effects” does not include effects that alter Weakness and Resistance. (May 3, 2017 TPCi Rules Changes Announcement; May 18, 2017 TPCi Rules Team)​
    So, this is a systematic exception.
     

Share This Page