Time Hollow and New Rare Candy rulings.

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Dual_Draw, May 9, 2011.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Dual_Draw

    Dual_Draw New Member

    If Player A uses Jirachi CLs "Time Hollow" attack to De-evolve Player Bs Emboar to a Tepig(by using Rare Candy), is Tepig considered a New Pokemon in play and therefor can't use another Rare Candy in order to evolve back into Emboar? The ruling on Undevelop/Eevee makes me think that you can't but I just wanted some confirmation as it doesn't mention Eevee being a new Pokemon in play and Jolteons would take place during Player Bs turn.

     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    First, I'll note to new players that the quoted ruling was issued before the Rare Candy change, so you wouldn't be able to use Rare Candy to evolve right away that turn.

    Now, back to your question.
    It's a matter of timing.
    Yes, Tepig counts as a new Pokemon coming into play when you devolve to it.
    But when?
    When is the effect done? During your turn.
    All attack effects are resolved on the turn of the attack.
    So, Tepig "comes into play" on your turn. Your turn ends.
    Now, your opponent's turn begins. Tepig is already in play.
    Since it is not the turn that Tepig was played on, Rare Candy can be used.
     

Share This Page