Unown E ruling

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Rainbowgym, Sep 7, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Rainbowgym

    Rainbowgym Active Member

    I want to ask to review the ruling made on Unown E, because I do believe it's incorrect.
    The Questions
    The Answers
    Correct me if I am wrong but the way Tools "work" is because it's written on the card and not because it's a gamerule.
    I checked all tools from Neo Genesis-on and all tools have the additional text taking care you cannot attach a second tool.
    But there is a gamerule "play the card as written".
    Unown E has no text saying:
    "You cannot attach this card if there is already a Tool attached to that pokemon (or simular wording)"

    I also checked the translations Bangiras made on this card and it says treat Unown E as a Pokemon Tool.
    With this in mind I think the ruling for Unown E should be
    Q1. Yes, You can attach Unown E to a pokemon who already has a Tool on it (because it's NOT written on the card you can't).
    Q2. NO, You cannot attach a "regular" tool to a pokemon who has Unown E attached, because it's treated as a Tool because of the written text on regular Tools.
    Q3. Yes you can.

    I don't think this card is really discussed and a ruling made because all regular Tools have that specific wording about not being allowed to attach a second one.
    My first reaction when my son played this card was also, you can't do that. And I feel Pokepop ruled this way because (same as me) had never been an issue.
    But me son also stated it's not on the card. And after reviewing EACH tool which was released since Neo Genesis I came to the conclusion he is correct.
    The text "attach Unown E as a Tool, (or bangiras "treat this card as a Tool iso Pokemon) for me refers to the option Windstorm should be able to remove it from play (or some attacks).

    There was never a need for a ruling on Tools, because all Tools had a reference on it you could not attach a second on.
    It was "do as written on the card".
    That's why I ask to review/discuss the ruling made, because I strongly believe it's an incorrect ruling.

    Thanks for reading
    [email protected]
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Copying to Single Cards which is where disputes and disagreements with rulings can be discussed.
    Leaving a copy here so Jimmer can comment, if he wishes.

Share This Page