Unown G Corrected

Discussion in 'TCG News & Gossip Discussion' started by PokePop, Feb 24, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

  2. Jason

    Jason New Member

    Still...we need to get Tangrowth corrected or else ;p
     
  3. TheDarkTwins

    TheDarkTwins Active Member

    How can that Wager Ruling be correct?

    == TEAM GALACTIC'S WAGER (DP:Mysterious Treasures)

    Q. If I play Team Galactic's Wager can I choose to draw zero cards, or must each
    player draw at least one card since it says "UP TO 3" for losing or "UP TO 6"
    for winning?
    A. Each player must draw at least one card if they are able to. (Feb 21, 2008
    PUI Rules Team)


    That doesnt make any sense. Every card that has said Up to X amount has allowed 0 to be to that amount. Now, it is being change for this 1 card? That doesnt make a lot of sense to me.

    Just Wondering,

    Drew
     
  4. Ardoptres

    Ardoptres New Member

    OMG, Houndoom just got MUCH better! :D
     
  5. Adam Garcia

    Adam Garcia New Member

    BOOO i want unown g to stay the same
     
  6. rhodesia123

    rhodesia123 New Member

    it hasnt allowed 0 since like a year ago
     
  7. Skull Bash

    Skull Bash New Member

    Yea, thats what I was more interested in too. The only bad thing about that is you can't attach a special dark and a multi energy because then the multi won't account for both types of energy. Still doing a possible 90 for 2 is ridiculous.
     
  8. totoro

    totoro Active Member

    Glad the "G" issue has been resolved; now I'm just waiting on exeggutor...
     
  9. BloodDraek

    BloodDraek New Member

    I don't believe they didn't errata tangrowth
     
  10. TheDarkTwins

    TheDarkTwins Active Member

    Um, no that is incorrect. It has always been that if it is Up To, 0 is a choice.

    Drew
     
  11. Mew*

    Mew* Active Member

    Yeah, that ruling surprised me when I saw it as an answer in the Ask The Masters Forum the other day.

    Yeah!!!!111!

    Thanks for all the rulings!
     
  12. The Gorn

    The Gorn Active Member

    Agree with Drew. I remember the whole "Draw a number of cards up to X" followed by the "Zero is a number" response.
     
  13. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Actually, the principle that zero was a valid choice in "up to" scenarios changed over a year ago with the ruling from Japan about playing a card for no effect. There are rulings on the books where wording says "choose up to" and we have ruled that you can't take zero. You must take at least one.

    BDS
     
  14. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    The_Gorn, it has been changed since Power Keepers when Delcatty was rereleased, if not before Power Keepers. You can't use Energy Draw to drop an energy in the discard pile and then draw 0 cards. If you're going to discard the energy, you have to be able to draw atleast one card and do so.

    totoro, Exeggutor was mistranslated?! I could be playing exeggutor right now but instead it's sitting in my binder? :frown:
     
  15. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Is Unown-G a simple errata or is it a meta-rule like the implied 'discard or this attack does nothing' when attacks discard energy as a cost?
     
  16. Lawman

    Lawman Active Member

    Unown G is what we thought it was......japan's way. It is a tool that prevents effects of oppo's attacks. Damage goes thru.

    Keith (the way this head judge was going to rule it if no ruling was in place before states)
     
  17. mcoville

    mcoville New Member

    I am happy to see the Unown-G ruling but the Houndoom confuses me. Was it a mistranslation? because the card says discard a fire or a dark energy, how can it then do both effects if you have to choose which to discard? Oh well, thank you Team Comp and PUI for getting this sorted well before states so everyone should be ready in time.
     
  18. totoro

    totoro Active Member

    If you discard, say, a working multi, you have no choice what type it provides--it provides all types of energy. The game says, "Did s/he discard something that provides fire?" Answer: Yes. Next question the game asks, "Did s/he discard something that provides dark?" Answer: Yes. So, both effects DO occur.

    Back to back posts merged. The following information has been added:

    See: http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=1029037&postcount=42
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  19. Aggy&Co.

    Aggy&Co. Member

    Re Houndoom discard

    Holon's Castform Searchable and easy to attach, just make sure you have an extra basic on it so you can attack next turn..
     
  20. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Note the ruling source: The FAQ for the set. This is not a mistranslation. Nor a correction of a mistranslation. It is how it has always worked for discards like this.
    Look up rulings on Southern Island's Mew's Attack for the exact same dual effect bonus.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page