What's happen if.....

Discussion in 'Professor Forum' started by Prof Donphan, Apr 18, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Prof Donphan

    Prof Donphan Member

    ... in a deck with only 4 basic pokemon (like TMHoundour/TmHoundoom), the basic go into the prizes
    and the opponent stop to draw?
  2. DaytonGymLeader

    DaytonGymLeader New Member

    Given the current Floor Rules and pre-game procedures, this can't happen. Prizes are set out after both players have resolved their hands.

  3. Prof Donphan

    Prof Donphan Member

    Last edited: Apr 18, 2004
  4. Noah121

    Noah121 Active Member

    Oh... come on. Even Professors are not infallible. One mistake will not make the world end. However, that is consistent with the rules from the rulebook too.
  5. DaytonGymLeader

    DaytonGymLeader New Member

    OK, change can't to shouldn't.

    If I were judging, I would inspect the deck for Basic Pokemon and compare it against the decklist, making sure that the deck at least has something that passes for Basics. If they happen to be in the prizes, I would have the player in question scoop their cards and have them follow the correct process. Then I would assign a penalty for something on the lines of Procedural Error - Major for the player who did drop their basics in the prizes and a Procedural Error - Minor for the other player for not ensuring game state. If the other player had already drawn mulligan cards after laying prizes, they would be targeted for 1 Procedural Error - Major for the illegal draws combined with not following the proper pre-game procedure (as prizes were already laid out). That player would NOT scoop and reset. Bear in mind I'd weigh player age, skill level, etc in all this, so the above is subject to change.

    If it's an "upper level" event, such as CC/State championship/GC/Stadium Challenge, I would expect the penalty to be escalated. Again, weigh in player age, skill level, etc.

    If it's just League, that's more of a teaching environment. I'd have both players scoop and start again from scratch using the correct process.
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2004

Share This Page