Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Why are pokemon cards costing so much (in comparison to last season)

xcfrisco

Is it just me or has there been a $$ creep to staples of both new and old cards in the past year (I started playing in may 2009). Take T/S/S for example. Roseanne's was a must have staple that everyone needed 4 copies of and on average those only went for $3-4 piece. Now, pokemon collector's are easily $5+.

Gengar prime comes in 2 out of every 3 boxes and is currently around $30-35. Luxray lv X only comes in one out of every 3 or 4 boxes and was only around $25-30 when it came out.

These are just some of the examples I'm seeing, not too mention the ridic prices of other must have T/S/S and pokemon cards.

What gives? We're in a down economy and pokemon is getting "more" popular. Does this account for the price increases? Is it that the past few set have been so terrible that it inflates prices of old staples?

I can't figure it out, lol. $_$

I don't think it has changed all that much. Roseanne was a $5 card that was very tough to get until it became a League Promo. Luxray was only $25-30 for a short while, it got ridiculous once DCE was released and Luxchomp became BDIF. When Gengar came out it was a $10-15 card . . . Lost World hype has now made it more expensive. Apart from anything else, you only need 1-2 Luxray, while Lostgar plays 3-4 copies of the Prime.

oh you're right, completely forgot that gengars were a reasonable price for about a month or so after triumphant came out.

But BTS being $8+, Poketurn $5+, I seriously never remember T/S/S being as expensive a year ago as they were now.

Also, I've heard a lot of this magical holon tranceiver cards. Anyone know how much these cost at their low and at their peak? (just to compare staple tss prices across the eras)

Someone told me a whole set could go for 50+.
But I don't think something like that will happen again.
Holon tranceiver was a staple in EVERY deck, not certain ones.