why can't i throw away candy?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by TrEkIeV, Nov 14, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. TrEkIeV

    TrEkIeV New Member

    i just read this ruling:

    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Could you Rare Candy a Pokemon and NOT play an evolution on it just to get rid of the Rare Candy?
    A. No. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    the card text says "choose 1 of your basic pokemon in play. If you have a Stage 1 or Stage 2 card that evolves from the pokemon in your hand, put that card on the basic pokemon. (This counts as evolving that Pokemon)"

    the card basically says "do something, if blah blah blah, then blah blah blah"

    so, what if you play the Rare Candy, pick a Wobbuffet on your bench, look at your hand and realize you dont "have a Stage 1 or Stage 2 card that evolves from the pokemon in your hand" ? well, then the card is just put in the discard pile, because it was used.

    so i dont understand the logic behind this ruling, can someone please explain it to me.

    the trainer card PokeBall says the same thing: "do something, if blah blah blah, then blah blah blah"
    so under the same logic nintendo used, if you flip tails, then you could'nt have even played the card and it stays in your hand, which would be ridiculous.

    i believe players should be able to play this card, pick one of their basic pokemon, then check their hand to see if they have the evolution card. if they have it, then they must put it on top of the basic, if they dont, then the rare candy is just put in the discard pile because it was just played.
     
  2. MetaGrossEX

    MetaGrossEX New Member

    TrEkLeV:
    Yes i agree with you nintendo did make a bad ruling and the answer should have been yes
     
  3. GreatFox

    GreatFox New Member

    You are so correct, You should be able to toss it if need be. After all, having the evolution in you hand is not a reqirement of playing the card.

    Rare Candy states:
    "Choose 1 of your basic pokemon in play. If you have a Stage 1 or Stage 2 card that evolves from the pokemon in your hand, put that card on the basic pokemon. (This counts as evolving that Pokemon)"

    The only requirement to playing the card is choosing a Pokémon in play.

    It says if you also have an evolution for that Pokémon, then go ahead an play it on that Pokémon.

    It doesn't say:
    "Choose 1 of your basic pokemon in play and put a Stage 1 or Stage 2 card that evolves from the pokemon in your hand on the basic pokemon. (This counts as evolving that Pokemon)"

    Hopfully, TC can persuade POP to retract that ruling if we give them enough evidance and a very good counter point to do so in the next rules meeting.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2003
  4. NoPoke

    NoPoke Active Member

    I agree too. Nothing in the text of Rare Candy requires that you have a matching 'evolves from' card in your hand in order to play the card.

    play it as per the rulling untill such time as it is changed. There were a few Wotc rulings that only lasted a week too. Its a tradition! ;)
     
  5. Pidgeotto Trainer

    Pidgeotto Trainer New Member

    The ruling makes perfect sense to me. You can only play the card if you use the card. The wording may deceiving. I think what they meant for it was that you need to carry out the effect to play the card. Which is why they ruled on it.
     
  6. RainbowRichards

    RainbowRichards Active Member

    I keep coming back to this thread and wondering - why would you WANT to "throw away" the card without getting the benefit????
     
  7. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    To use Professor Birch of course!
     
  8. TrEkIeV

    TrEkIeV New Member

    in late game, when your basics are already evolved, rare candy becomes a useless piece of paper... so you might as well throw it away so that when you shuffle your hand back into your deck, you wont draw it again.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2003
  9. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 Active Member

    The thing is, if you could discard RC, you'd have to prove you didn't have any evolutions of the pokemon you chose, or something like that?
     
  10. TrEkIeV

    TrEkIeV New Member


    its not hard to prove if i pick a Wobbuffet or any other basic that doesn't have an evolution...
     
  11. Spectreon

    Spectreon New Member

    I dont think it would matter what Pokemon you pick, it would most likely be ruled you must show your hand to prove you dont have a non existant evolution.....

    And dont worry RainbowRichards, I was wondering the same thing....
     
  12. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 Active Member

    Hence the "or something like that." Of course, it's always possible you will be in a position where you have to prove it.

    This may just be a simplicity ruling-it's easier to just not allow it than to work out the other scenario.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2003

Share This Page